Did ball change cost umpire Aleem Dar Champions Trophy final?

Jun 23, 2013, 02:02 IST | IANS

Aleem Dar has apparently lost the opportunity of officiating Sunday's Champions Trophy final after his role in changing the ball during England's defeat to Sri Lanka at the group stage.

The three-time ICC’s best umpire of the year has been demoted to the fourth umpire’s position for the title clash between India and England here at Edgbaston.

Aleem Dar
Aleem Dar

The Pakistani angered England after he changed the ball, leading to speculation of ball tampering.

Kumar Dharmasena and Rod Tucker will be the on-field umpires on Sunday and will be closely monitoring the condition of the balls while with Bruce Oxenford will be the third umpire. Ranjan Madugalle will be the match referee. 

Go to top