Dream dozen

Published: Nov 19, 2012, 09:05 IST | A Correspondent |

After their recent bronze-winning effort in Dubai, 12 biathletes set out to make critical transition to modern pentathlon

Twelve biathletes, who won bronze medals in the team event of the UPMI XIV Biathle World Championships, held in Dubai on November 3 will now train harder to make the transition into the modern pentathlon, an Olympic sport.

The sport Biathle (Run-Swim-Run) comes under the auspices of modern pentathlon, which consist of five different sports (running, shooting, fencing, swimming and horse riding) that an individual has to perform within a time zone. Biathle is a feeder sport for the modern pentathlon.

Certified: The 12 biathletes, who won bronze medals in Dubai recently, pose with their certificates in Mumbai.

As a sport, modern pentathlon was first included in the Olympics in the 1912 Stockholm Games. This year, 537 biathletes around the globe participated in the World Championship Events held in various age groups — 10-12 years, 13-14 years, 15-18 years, 18 and above and four masters categories.

The Indian teams finished in bronze medal-winning positions in Youth A, male (under-17, 1500m run, 200m swim, 1500m run), Youth B, male (under-15, 1000m run, 110m swim, 1000m run), Youth B female (under-15, 1000m run, 110m swim, 1000m run) and Youth C female (under-13, 1000m run, 110m swim, 1000m run).

The selection of Team India was done through the third National Championships, organised by the Modern Pentathlon Federation of India (MPFI) in Nasik (Maharashtra) on August 25. Around 375 athletes from all over the country took part in the nationals. The best five biathletes from each age group were selected and called for a national training camp at Pune. A similar training schedule was also held in Dubai before the championship.

The following biathletes won bronze medals in the overall team championship: Youth A Male: Yash Pawale, Abhishek Pathak, Viraj Pardeshi.

Youth B Male: Narun Gumaste,
Pranav Deshpande, Harshal Wakharia.
Youth B Female: Siddhi Chajjed, Viha Chitroda, Aishwarya Naik. Youth C Female: Manasvi Iyer, Pooja Ghule, Shweta Shardul.  

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK