Elections 2014: BJD ahead in 20 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha

May 16, 2014, 11:30 IST | PTI

BJD in Odisha established leads in 13 seats, BJP in three while Congress was leading in two seats trends of which were available

Bhubaneswar: In an impressive show, BJD is surging ahead in 20 of the 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha, while BJP is leading in one seat, according to trends available till 1500 hrs.

Live results: LOK SABHA ELECTIONS 2014 NEWS for complete coverage

Veteran Congress leader and former chief minister Giridhar Gamang is trailing behind BJD candidate and sitting MLA Jhina Hikaka in Koraput (ST) constituency by 1,761 votes. In Nabarangpur, Congress nominee Pradeep Kumar Majhi, is trailing behind Balabhadra Majhi of BJD by 271 votes.

Union Minister Srikant Jena of Congress is trailing in Balasore. He is in the third position with Rabindra Kumar Jena of BJD leading over his nearest BJP rival Pratap Chandra Sarangi by 17,105 votes.

In Sundargarh, Jual Oram is trailing behind BJD candidate and former hockey captain Dilip Kumar Tirkey who is leading by 2155 votes. Congress veteran and former chief minister Hemanand Biswal is now in third place. BJP's Pradipta Kumar Naik is now trailing behind his BJD rival Arka Keshari Deo by 2164 votes. BJP candidate Subhas Chouhan is leading in Bargarh over his nearest BJD rival P K Singh by 4,074 votes. In Puri, BJD's Pinaki Mishra is leading by 41,332 votes over his nearest Congress nominee Sucharita Mohanty.

BJD's Ladu Kishore Swain is leading over his nearest Congress rival Sriloknath Rath by 1,20,635 votes in Aska. In Berhampur, sitting BJD MP Sidhant Mohapatra is leading over his nearest Congress rival Chandrasekhar Sahu by 38,312 votes.

In Bhubaneswar, sitting BJD MP Prasanna Kuamar Patsani is ahead of BJP's Prithviraj Harichandan by 46,732 votes, while BJD MP Kalikesh Narayan Singhdeo is leading over BJP's Sangeeta Singhdeo in Balangir by 23,465 votes. BJD sitting MP Tathagat Satpathy is leading over BJP's Rudra Narayan Pani by 38,823 votes in Dhenkanal and Bhartruhari Mahtab is leading by 61,570 votes over Aparajita Mohanty of Congress in Cuttack.

In Kandhamal, Hemendra Chandra Singh of BJD is ahead of Harihar Karan of Congress by 78,273 votes, while his party colleague Sakuntala Laguri is ahead of Ananta Nayak of BJP in Keonjhar by 37,527 votes. Ramachandra Hansda of BJD is leading over Nepole Raghu Murmu of BJP by 37,130 votes in Mayurbhanj, while Nagendra Pradhan of BJD is ahead of BJP's Suresh Pujari in Sambalpur by 11,909 votes.

In Bhadrak, BJD leader and former Union minister Arjun Charan Sethi is ahead of Congress' Sangram Keshari Jena by 36,852 votes, while in Jagatsinghpur BJD's Kulamani Samal is leading over Congress nominee Bibhu Prasad Tarai by 49,204 votes and in Jajpur BJD's Rita Tarai is ahead over BJP nominee Amiyakanta Mallick by 36,310 votes. In Kendrapara constituency, BJD's Baijayant Panda is ahead of his Congress rival Dharanidhar Nayak by 24,988 votes.

Go to top