Elections 2014: BJP leads in 9 of the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Jharkhand

May 16, 2014, 11:39 IST | PTI

BJP is leading in nine of the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Jharkhand, initial trends showed

Ranchi: BJP is leading in nine of the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Jharkhand, initial trends showed. After completion of the third round, former Jharkhand Chief Minister and JMM supremo Shibu Soren is trailing behind BJP's Sunil Soren by 642 votes in Dumka.

Live results: LOK SABHA ELECTIONS 2014 NEWS for complete coverage

Another former Chief Minister and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantric) President Babulal Marandi is in the third position there. Former Union minister and sitting MP Subodh Kant Sahay of Congress is trailing by over 2,000 votes behind BJP candidate and three-time MP Ram Tahal Choudhary in Ranchi.

In Rajmahal, BJP's Hemal Murmu is leading by about 1,500 votes over his nearest rival Vijay Kumar Hansda of JMM. BJP's Sunil Kumar Singh was leading in the Chatra Lok Sabha constituency by 1,000 votes. He is pitted against Congress nominee Dhiraj Prasad Sahu and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantric) candidate Nilam Devi.

BJP candidate Ravindra Kumar Rai is leading by 500 votes in Koderma. His closest opponents are CPI(ML-Liberation) nominee Raj Kumar Yadav and Tilakdhari Prasad Singh of Congress.

In Dhanbad, BJP's Pashupati Nath Singh is leading by over 20,000 votes against his nearest Congress rival Ajay Kumar Dubey. In Palamau, former Jharkhand police chief and BJP candidate Vishnu Dayal Ram has established a comfortable lead of over 10,000 votes against his nearest RJD rival Manoj Kumar.

BJP nominee Bidyut Baran Mahato is leading by over 15,000 votes over his nearest JVM rival and sitting MP Ajay Kumar from Jamshedpur after completion of first round. In Giridih, BJP's Ravindra Kumar Pandey is leading by over 7,000 votes against his JMM rival Jagannath Mahato after the completion of the first round.

Go to top