Elections 2014: Delhi records highest voter turnout in three decades

Apr 11, 2014, 08:08 IST | Agencies

Delhi records its highest voter turnout in the last three decades with 64.77 percent polling

New Delhi: Delhi on Thursday recorded its highest voter turnout in the last three decades with 64.77 percent polling.

card voter
Representational pic

The capital saw a 64.88 percent turnout in the 1984 elections, held post the assassination of prime minister Indira Gandhi. The turnout in 2009 election was 51.85 percent.

"The high voter turnout was because of the awareness campaign started by the election commission since the Delhi assembly polls in December 2013," said chief electoral officer Vijay Dev.

Of Delhi's seven parliamentary constituencies, North East recorded the highest voter turnout - 67.08 percent.

The three main contenders for this seat are Congress' J.P. Agarwal, Aam Aadmi Party's Anand Kumar and Bharatiya Janata Party's Manoj Tiwari.

Chandni Chowk, held by union minister Kapil Sibal, recorded 66.8 percent voting. The AAP had fielded journalist-turned-politician Ashutosh against him while the BJP had put it its state unit chief Harsh Vardhan.

North West (reserved) recorded 61.38 percent - the lowest. Here Congress' Krishna Tirath is trying to retain the seat against former Delhi minister Rakhi Birla of the AAP, and the BJP's Udit Raj.

Like other constituencies, New Delhi also saw a three-way battle. If Congress' Ajay Maken wins, it will a hatrick for him. He faces journalist-turned-politician Ashish Khetan of the AAP and Meenakshi Lekhi of the BJP.

East Delhi recorded 65.59 percent. The AAP and the BJP have fielded Rajmohan Gandhi and Mahesh Giri against Sandeep Dikshit, the son of former chief minister Sheila Dikshit.

A total of 65.64 percent voting took place in West Delhi. AAP has fielded ex-journalist Jarnail Singh against sitting MP Mahabal Mishra of the Congress, while the BJP candidate is Parvesh Verma.

South Delhi saw 62.67 percent voting. Sitting MP Ramesh Kumar (Congress) faces AAP's Devinder Sherawat and BJP's Ramesh Bidhuri.

Go to top