En masse boycott of voting in six Karnataka districts

May 06, 2013, 05:23 IST | Agencies

Hundreds of voters in many constituencies across Karnataka yesterday boycotted the assembly poll in protest against the 'apathy' of political parties, which, they alleged, had let them down.

Election Commission sources said that angry voters in six of the eight assembly segments across Haveri district stayed away en masse and staged sit-in demos against parties and officials for not providing them basic facilities such as drinking water and power at a time they were reeling under drought. “We have received reports that in many polling booths across Haveri, Chitradurga, Davangere, Kolar and Chikkaballapur, the turnout was nil, as voters decided to boycott the election,” an EC official said.

Overcoming hurdles: A physically disabled person doesn’t allow his handicap from letting himself exercise his right. He is helped out of a booth after he casts his vote during the Karnataka polls

Over 48,182 police personnel were deployed outside booths across the state to maintain law and order. Pics/AFP

Even Soliga tribals in Chamarajanagar district did not cast their ballot in protest against the ‘indifference’ of the authorities to their demands.

“Voters are miffed that no elected representatives visited them or provided amenities to their localities. As they were betrayed, they staged demos outside the polling stations holding their voters’ identity cards but refused to vote,” a presiding officer said.

Go to top