Former batsman Brijesh Patel makes comeback as KSCA secretary; Wadiyar President

Published: 03 December, 2013 00:45 IST | PTI |

Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar has been elected President of the Karnataka State Cricket Association after a thumping win in the body's elections held during its Annual General Meeting here.

"The Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) members have taught (the outgoing team of) Anil Kumbleand Javagal Srinath group a lesson for their arrogance and egoism," Dr P Dayananda Pai, who was elected the treasurer, said. Wadiyar said it is overwhelming that his group won all 24 seats by convincing margins.

Wadiyar said it was after the last elections, he and Brijesh Patel, who was elected Secretary, decided to bury the hatchet and come together in the interest of KSCA members. "I have worked on this arrangement for the last three years. In fact, towards the end of 2008, Brijesh made a proposal that both of us should join hands," he said.

Asked about his three-year agenda, Wadiyar said his team will try to reduce the financial burden of clubs. The team would also upgrade the stadium to a world-class facility with modern lighting, drainage system and rainwater harvesting, the Mysore scion said. Patel said the first priority was to see Karnataka doing well in Ranji Trophy and revive junior cricket.

Patel said bagging all 24 seats is a great mandate, but Wadiyar's team has a great responsibility to deliver in next three years in all areas. Outgoing President Anil Kumble said: "I wish Wadiyar and Brijesh the very best." At the KSCA annual general body meeting Wadiyar yesterday late night had polled polled 923 votes out of the total 1,351 cast to regain the post of president, which he held for three years from 2007.

Opponent Sadananda Maiya managed just 428 votes. Patel, seeking re-election as secretary, got the biggest thumbs-up from members, with 977 votes as against 374 for opponent A V Jayaprakash. Pai polled 932 votes to defeat incumbent treasurer Tallam Venkatesh, who had been in that post for the last six years. Three vice-presidential candidates R Sudhakar Rao, P R Ashokanand and Sanjay Desai won comfortably, with 915, 861 and 790 votes, respectively.

 While the Wadiyar-Patel combine won the 23 seats that went to polls, the unopposed winner from the Dharwad Zone (BDK Sports Club) had already pledged his support to the group. Wadiyar and Patel both have returned to KSCA administration after 2010. In last elections, Wadiyar had lost to Kumble while Patel, a former India batsman, had decided not to contest. Patel has served as KSCA secretary for 12 years from 1998.

Kumble and Srinath had decided not to contest this year's elections. They were elected to the office of KSCA in 2010. However, the duo had backed Maiya's and his candidates. But that did not sway the 1,844 members. A total of 1,344 members voted including former India captain Rahul Dravid.

Among others who voted were former Test cricketers EAS Prasanna, BS Chandrasekhar, Syed Kirmani and GR Viswanath. Industrialist and owner of IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore, Vijay Mallya too voted. Mallya had supported the Patel-Wadiyar team. The new office-bearers: President: Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar (923).

Vice-presidents (3): R Sudhakar Rao (915), PR Ashok Anand (861), Sanjay M Desai (790). Treasurer: Dr P Dayananda Pai (932). Secretary: Brijesh Patel (977). Life Members (6): Raghuram Bhat (953), Dodda Ganesh (899), Srinivasa Murthy NS (881), Mallikarjuna Swamy HM (816), Manjunath VM (809), Lachman Mahtani (791). Institutional Members Bangalore Zone (6): City Cricketers (980), Jayanagar Colts (894), The Bangalore Cricketers (882), Swastic Union Cricket Club (872), Vijaya Cricket Club, Malur (860), Vultures Cricket Club (782). Institutional Members Mofussil (6): Mysore Zone, RBN Cricket Club (811), Shimoga Zone, Durgigudi Cricket Association (908), Tumkur Zone, Tumkur Occassionals (933), Mangalore Zone, Mangalore Sports Club (770), Raichur Zone, City XI Cricket Club (926), Dharwad Zone, BDK Sports Foundation (unopposed). 

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK