Gadkari meets jailed colleagues

Published: 01 November, 2011 06:55 IST | Amit Singh |

Slams CBI, claims BJP will expose those who acted against 'whistleblowers'

Slams CBI, claims BJP will expose those who acted against 'whistleblowers'

BJP chief Nitin Gadkari on Monday met Sudheendra Kulkarni and two other former party MPs at Tihar Jail. Later, he told reporters that the party will expose those who had acted against the 'whistleblowers'. "When BJP gets a chance, we will expose them and send them to Tihar," Gadkari said. He said it was democracy's tragedy that innocent people were imprisoned and those involved in scandal were roaming free.

On camera: TV grab of the three BJP MPs waving bundles of currency
notes on July 22, 2008, in Lok Sabha. File pic

The BJP chief also alleged that the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) had turned into "Congress Bureau of Investigation"; Gadkari rhetorically said it would be better if the agency shifted its office to the Congress headquarters. Several other BJP leaders, including LK Advani, Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj, too have visited
their jailed party colleagues in Tihar.

What's the status?
Gadkari's visit came after the Delhi High Court on Monday sought response from the police on the bail pleas of Kulkarni, former BJP MPs Faggan Singh Kulaste, Mahabir Singh Bhagora and alleged BJP activist Suhail Hindustani. Justice Mehta also sought a status report from the police by the next date of hearing. The four accused approached the high court challenging the order of the trial court dismissing their bail pleas.

Body blow!
Kulkarni, who is in jail since September 27, had sought bail in the cash-for-vote scam where he said he played a whistleblower. The other accused also claimed to be whistleblowers and moved the Delhi High Court for bail.
The Delhi High Court on October 24 had granted a regular bail to former Samajwadi Party leader and Rajya Sabha member Amar Singh, accused in the cash-for-vote scandal, on health grounds.

Seeking bail
Meanwhile, BJP MP Ashok Argal, an accused in the case, has also moved the Delhi High Court seeking anticipatory bail in the case and his bail plea is likely to be heard tomorrow.

Up for sale?
On July 22, 2008, three BJP MPs �Faggan Singh Kulaste, Mahabir Singh Bhagora and Ashok Argal �waved wads of currency notes in the Lok Sabha ahead of a trust vote, alleging they were given the money to vote in favour of the Manmohan Singh government.

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK