Harris Shield Final: Al-Barkaat bounce back!

Updated: 14 December, 2017 11:00 IST | Binaisha M Surti | Mumbai

Kurla side bag Harris Shield for second time after convincing win over SVIS (Kandivli)

Al-Barkaat MMI English School (Kurla) won the 121st Harris Shield title by virtue of a first innings lead against Swami Vivekanand International School (Kandivli) in the final at Bombay Gymkhana yesterday. Left-arm spinner Saud Mansoori continued his fine form and picked five for 54 on Day Three. This is the second time Al-Barkaat have won the crown after ending as runners-up last year. Resuming on their overnight score of 148-6, Swami Vivekanand lost skipper Rishi Shah (60) after he was trapped leg before by Divyanshu Singh.

Al-Barkaat MMI English School (Kurla) players pose with their medals and the Harris Shield after the final against SVIS at Bombay Gymkhana yesterday. Pic/Bipin Kokate
Al-Barkaat MMI English School (Kurla) players pose with their medals and the Harris Shield after the final against SVIS at Bombay Gymkhana yesterday. Pic/Bipin Kokate 

Unlucky day for Niel
His partner Niel Patade could only add three to his overnight score of 10 before being bowled by Sufiyan Khan. Kshitij Singh (15) departed after he was caught at short leg by Saumil Malandkar. Saksham Rawat, who was the last batsman to walk in, added just four to the Kandivli side's total. He was bowled by Saud, whose impeccable line and length, along with good flight, deceived the SVIS batsmen throughout the innings. SVIS were bowled out for 179 in 69.5 overs. Aman Sanghavi was unbeaten on six.
For Al-Barkaat, left-arm spinner Naufil Rozani ended the day with two for 28 in his 11-over spell, while medium pacer Sufiyan Khan took two for 30. Instead of allowing their opponents to follow-on, Al-Barkaat decided to bat again. The match was over for SIVS and they had to play for pride. Opening the second innings for Al-Barkaat, captain Harsh Mogaveera (13) departed after he was caught at second slip by Rithik Jain.

The young batsman was deceived by the pace of Prateek Gond. Saumil Malandkar, who scored 92 in the first innings, departed without troubling the scorers as Gond struck yet again. At close of play, Hammed was unbeaten on 13, while Divyanshu was not out on six. The Kurla side's Atharva Nigre won the award for Best Batsman. In five league matches, he scored 355 runs. The Best All-rounder was awarded to Himanshu Singh, who scored 290 in four innings and picked 11 wickets.

Saud bags Best Bowler title
Saud took home the Best Bowler award for his 29 wickets during the league stage. Former India Test opener Lalchand Rajput was the Chief Guest, while Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) Joint Secretary Dr PV Shetty was the Guest of Honour for the post-match presentation ceremony.

Catch up on all the latest sports news and updates here

Download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get updates on all the latest and trending stories on the go

First Published: 14 December, 2017 08:25 IST

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK