Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Holders Gujarat in Group B, Mumbai in Group A

Jan 12, 2016, 19:23 IST | PTI

Defending champions Gujarat has been placed in Group B for the final stage of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 championship to be held from January 15-20. Mumbai, meanwhile, has been drawn with 2013-14 champions Baroda, Kerala and Vidarbha in Group A

Defending champions Gujarat and former winners Baroda have been placed in different groups for the final stage of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 championship to be held at two venues in Mumbai from January 15-20.

While 2014-15 winners Gujarat, who had won the crown in 2012-13 too, are placed in Group B along with Delhi, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh, 2013-14 champions Baroda have been drawn in Group A along with hosts Mumbai, Kerala and Vidarbha.

The round-robin stage will see four matches per day, with action beginning at 9:00 am and ending at 4:00 pm daily, leading to the summit clash between the top two finishers of the two groups, scheduled at the Wankhede Stadium under lights from 6:30 pm.

All Group A games are to be held at the Wankhede Stadium while all Group B matches would be played at the MCA Sharad Pawar Academy ground at the Bandra-Kurla Complex. Vidarbha would take on Baroda in the opening Group A game on January 15 at the Wankhede Stadium, while on the same day Gujarat would clash with Delhi in the Group B opener at the BKC ground.

There would be no matches on January 17 and 19. The schedule is:

Group A (Wankhede Stadium):

Jan 15: Vidarbha v Baroda (9:00 am); Kerala v Mumbai (1:00 pm).
Jan 16: Kerala v Baroda (9:00 am); Vidarbha v Mumbai (1:00 pm).
Jan 18: Vidarbha v Kerala (9:00 am); Baroda v Mumbai (1.00 pm).

Group B (BKC ground):

Jan 15: Gujarat v Delhi (9:00 am); Jharkhand v UPCA (1:00 pm).
Jan 16: Jharkhand v Delhi (9:00 am); Gujarat v UPCA (1:00 pm).
Jan 18: Gujarat v Jharkhand (9:00 am); Delhi v UPCA (1:00 pm).
Jan 20: Final: Group A winners v Group B winners, Wankhede Stadium (6:30 pm).

Go to top