Hyderabad retain 20 IPL players

Published: 02 November, 2012 08:06 IST | IANS |

The Hyderabad franchise of the Indian Premier League (IPL), owned by Sun TV, retained 20 players in their initial squad for the 2013 season of the cash-rich Twenty20 league, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) yesterday

Sun TV has decided to retain six overseas players like Dale Steyn, Jean Paul Duminy, Kumar Sangakkara, Cameron White, Chris Lynn and Juan Theron. The new owners have spent $5 million and still have a budget of $7 million in their kitty.

Each franchise has a salary cap of up to $12.5 million to spend on their 2013 squad of up to 33 players, of whom a maximum of 11 can be from overseas.

Nine IPL franchises have retained 179 players.

The trading window will open on Monday. Franchises will also be able to sign uncapped Indian players.

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK