ICC Annual Awards: Pujara wins 'Emerging Cricketer of the Year, Clarke wins 'Cricketer of the Year'

Published: 13 December, 2013 14:17 IST | PTI |

Rising Test batsman Cheteshwar Pujara bagged the 'Emerging Cricketer of the Year' trophy as India had to be content with just two winners in the ICC Annual awards announced today in which Australian captain Michael Clarke clinched the top honours

"Australia captain Michael Clarke was today announced as the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year and was also named as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year," the ICC said in a statement. The announcement was made ahead of the broadcast of the Awards TV show which premieres tomorrow in most countries across the globe.

"The show is hosted by former Australia captain Ricky Ponting who won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy in 2006 and 2007, ICC Test Cricketer of the Year in 2006 and was appointed captain of ICC's ODI Team of the Year in 2007, 2008 and 2010," the ICC stated. Clarke was earlier named in the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year in Mumbai on December 3.

In the same event, India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was revealed as the LG People's Choice award winner. Clarke has been joined on the winners' list by Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, who was named ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year, and Pujara, who claimed his first-ever ICC award.

Cheteshwar Pujara. File Pic

Pujara became the second fastest Indian to get to 1000 Test runs, during the course of his double hundred against Australia in March at Hyderabad, where he put on a 370-run record second wicket partnership with Murali Vijay. The 25-year-old Pujara has 1310 runs in 15 Tests at an average of 65.50.

"Also joining Pujara on the winners list for the first time are New Zealand captain Suzie Bates, who won the ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year award, Pakistan fast bowler Umar Gul, whose five for six against South Africa won him the ICC T20I Performance of the Year award, Ireland's Kevin O'Brien, who won the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award, and Richard Kettleborough of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, who won the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year."

England's Sarah Taylor clinched the ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year award for the second year in a row, while Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardena won his second ICC Spirit of Cricket award, this time for walking without waiting for an umpire's decision when batting on 91 against New Zealand in Galle in November 2012.

Michael Clarke
Michael Clarke. Pic/ AFP

In total there are 11 individual awards, as well as the two ICC Teams of the Year for Tests and ODIs. "I'd like to congratulate all of the winners announced today, who are all highly deserving of their awards. It's been a fantastic year of cricket and I think a special congratulation is needed for Michael Clarke, who claimed two awards this evening, including of course the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year," ICC President Alan Isaac said.

"I would also like to extend my thanks to all of those on the Selection Panel and the various Voting Academies who gave up their time to vote for the various awards."

The full list of winners:

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) Michael Clarke (Australia)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year Michael Clarke (Australia)

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year Cheteshwar Pujara (India)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year Kevin O'Brien (Ireland)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year Umar Gul (Pakistan)

ICC T20I Women's Cricketer of the Year Sarah Taylor (England)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka)

 ICC Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy) Richard Kettleborough

LG People's Choice MS Dhoni. 

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK