In the league of champions!

Oct 11, 2012, 08:04 IST | A Correspondent

Here's all you wanted to know about CLT20

What is CLT20?
The Twenty20 Champions League is an international tournament featuring the best teams of the domestic Twenty20 tournaments in various nations.

Munaf Patel

Who runs it?
It is a joint initiative by the cricket boards of India, Australia and South Africa.
The tournament is a platform where the world’s best domestic T20 teams get the opportunity to pit their skills against each other.

Mitchell Johnson

Prize money:
>> Winning team: $2,500,000
>> Losing finalist: $1,300,000
>> Losing semi-finalists: $500,000 each
>> Teams finishing fifth to 10th: $200,000 each

Centurion, Durban, Cape Town and Johannesburg

The 10-team affair will be divided into two groups consisting of five teams each. The fifth team will be the winner and runner-up from the qualifying rounds (October 9-11).

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals to be played in Centurion and Durban. The Wanderers in Johannesburg will host the final on October 28.

Inaugural edition: 2009 in India

Previous champions:
>> 2009: NSW Blues
>> 2010: Chennai Super Kings
>> 2011: Mumbai Indians

Troubled past:
The first edition of the tournament was to be held in India in December 2008, but was cancelled following the terrorist attack in Mumbai on November 26. It was eventually held in September 2009, but the political situation ruled out the inclusion of a team from Pakistan. The 2012 edition was moved to South Africa because of the five-day festive season in Kolkata and monsoon season in India. The tournament has also faced issues as far as title sponsorship is concerned.

New inclusion:
Sialkot Stallions will join as Pakistan’s domestic champions for the first time ever in the tournament. Pakistan was not included in the Champions League T20 after the relationships between India and its neighbours strained due to the 2008 Mumbai terror attack.

Did you know?
Mumbai Indians qualified for the CLT20, in spite of finishing fourth in the fifth edition of the Indian Premier League, on the basis of being the defending champions. However, unlike last year, the fourth IPL team has got direct entry to the main tournament (In 2011, Kolkata Knight Riders, who had finished fourth that IPL season, had to compete in the qualifiers). The other three IPL teams competing this year are KKR (winners), Chennai SK (runners-up) and Delhi Daredevils (third-place winner). 

Go to top