In pictures: The political journey of Nitish Kumar

Updated: 21 November, 2015 10:26 IST | Jagran Post |

Nitish Kumar has been sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Bihar for the fifth time. As the Grand Alliance leader takes charge of his home state once again, we look at his political journey over the years

Nitish Kumar

Janata Dal leader Nitish Kumar will be sworn-in as Chief Minister of Bihar for fifth time. After his party's disastrous performance in the last Lok Sabha elections, he joined hands with Rashtriya Janata Dal president Lalu Prasad Yadav, providing a major challenge to BJP-led NDA in the assembly polls in the state.

We list some interesting facts of Nitish Kumar's journey in politics so far...

Nitish Kumar

1. Nitish Kumar joined Ram Manohar Lohiya's youth wing, Samajwadi Yuvajan Sabha in 1971.

Nitish Kumar, George Fernandes

2. He participated in Jayaprakash Narayan's movement against Congress between 1974 and 1977.

Nitish Kumar, Lalu Prasad Yadav

3. He was arrested under the Maintenance of Internal Security Act during infamous Emergency.

Nitish Kumar, Janata Dal, archive photograph

4. Nitish Kumar, who will serve his fifth term as Bihar CM had unsuccessfully contested first assembly elections on Janata Party ticket in 1977.

5. Nitish Kumar was president of Yuva Lok Dal, Bihar in 1987–88.

Nitish Kumar with mother the Late Smt. Parmeshwari Devi

6. He was appointed as secretary general of Janata Dal, Bihar. He was elected as a Member of Parliament for the first time in 1989.

7. Nitish Kumar was inducted into VP Singh Cabinet as Union Minister of State for Agriculture and Cooperation in 1990.

An undated photograph of Nitish Kumar from the 1970s

8. Later, he joined Atal Bihari Vajpayee-led NDA government as Union Minister for Surface Transport in 1999.

9. He also took charge of Ministry of Railways in Vajpayee government in 2001.

10. Nitish Kumar became Chief Minister of Bihar for the first time for 7 days only in 2000.

Nitish Kumar with Prime Minister Narendra Modi

11. Nitish Kumar was elected as Chief Minister of Bihar for the second time with BJP's support in 2005.

12. JD-U in alliance with BJP got over three-fourth majority in Bihar Assembly polls and Nitish Kumar took oath of CM for third time.

Nitesh Kumar, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP

13. Taking moral responsibility of JD-U's defeat in last general elections, Nitish Kumar resigned as CM.

Nitish Kumar

14. Nitish Kumar replaced Jitan Ram Manjhi as Chief Minister of the state after political difference with the later.

Nitesh Kumar with Jitan Ram Manjhi

15. He is widely known as 'Sushasan babu' (person known for good governance). During his tenure as Chief Minister, 50,000 criminals were put behind bars under between 2005-2010.

First Published: 20 November, 2015 14:49 IST

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK