Inclusion of 28 villages to make PMC jurisdiction largest in state

Published: 19 October, 2012 06:57 IST | Vivek Sabnis |

The urban development department of the state government had issued a Government Resolution (GR) stating inclusion of 28 villages in jurisdiction of the civic body.

The GR, which was published on October 11, has urged citizens to file their suggestions and objections within a period of one month, that is till November 11. 

As soon as they the villages are included, the PMC will become the largest corporation in the state. However, this will add to the woes that the city is presently facing. Experts say that the city is already facing problems like uncontrolled vehicular traffic, inadequate water supply, encroachment on hills, and the rapid conversion of agricultural land into residential zones.

“With the inclusion of these villages, the problems will only increase,” said an urban planning expert. The 28 villages are: Mahalunge, Sus, Bavdhan, Kirkitwadi, Pisorli, Lohegaon, Kondhwe-Dhavde, Kopre, Nanded, Khadakwasala, Shivne, Hadapsar (area of Sade Sataranali), Mundhwa, Manjri Budruk, Nare, Shivne Khurd, Aambegaon, Undari, Dhayari, Ambegaon Khurd, Uruli Devachi, Holkarwadi, Awatade-Handewadi, Wadachi Wadi, Shewale Wadi, Phrunsungi, Yevlewadi and Mantarwadi. 

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK