India 161 all out at Perth

Jan 13, 2012, 13:47 IST | Agencies

India were bowled out for 161 on the opening day of the third Test against Australia at the Western Australia Cricket Association Ground here Friday.

A familiar batting collapse saw Australia bundle out India for a paltry 161, few minutes after tea, on the first day of the third cricket Test at WACA, here on Friday.

Gautam Gambhir reacts after getting out.PIC/AFP
It took only 32 balls and 17 runs into the final session for the visitors to lose their last four wickets and end up with a mere 161 runs on the board.

Virat Kohli (44) was the top-scorer as the star studded batting line-up yet again failed miserably. The likes of Virender Sehwag (0), Rahul Dravid (9), Sachin Tendulkar (15), Gautam Gambhir (31) and VVS Laxman (31) all failed to make any significant contribution to team's cause.

Ben Hilfenhaus (4/43), Peter Siddle (3/42), Mitchell Starc (2/39) and Ryan Harris (1/33) shared the spoils.

While Hilfenhaus accounted for Mahendra Singh Dhoni (12) and Zaheer Khan (2), Starc sent back Vinay Kumar (5) and Ishant Sharma (3) back to the pavilion.

The final session began with Dhoni clouting two fours in the opening over by Hilfenhaus. But Starc then claimed Vinay Kumar from the other end for five and the innings unfolded quickly.

Dhoni defended a Hilfenhaus delivery with an angled bat and edged a straightforward catch to Ricky Ponting at second slip.

Zaheer Khan tried to hit his way out of trouble but it only worth two runs as he edged another catch into the slips, this time Michael Clarke at first slip doing the needful.

Starc wrapped up the Indian innings when he got one to lift as poor Ishant Sharma could only edge it to Brad Haddin behind stumps.

Scorecard on the opening day of the third Test between Australia and India at the WACA Ground on Friday.

India 1st innings

G. Gambhir c Haddin b Hilfenhaus 31

V. Sehwag c Ponting b Hilfenhaus 0

R. Dravid b Siddle 9

S. Tendulkar lbw Harris 15

V.V.S. Laxman c Clarke b Siddle 31

V. Kohli c Warne b Siddle 44

M.S. Dhoni c Ponting b Hilfenhaus 12

V. Kumar lbw Starc 5

Z. Khan c Clarke b Hilfenhaus 2

I. Sharma c Haddin b Starc 3

U. Yadav not out 4

Extras (b2, lb2, w1) 5

Total (all out; 60.2 overs) 161

Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Sehwag), 2-32 (Dravid), 3-59 (Tendulkar), 4-63 (Gambhir), 5-131 (Kohli), 6-138 (Laxman), 7-152 (Kumar), 8-152 (Dhoni), 9-157 (Khan), 10-161 (Sharma).

Bowling: Ryan Harris 18-6-33-1, Ben Hilfenhaus 18-5-43-4, Mitchell Starc 12.2-3-39-2 (1w), Peter Siddle 12-3-42-3.

Australia - David Warner, Ed Cowan, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke (capt), Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Ben Hilfenhaus, Ryan Harris. Nathan Lyon (12th man).

Toss: Australia

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK), Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

Video umpire: Paul Reiffel (AUS)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Go to top