India Inc. buys all franchises in Sri Lankan T20 league

Jun 29, 2012, 02:04 IST | IANS

The India Inc. will own all the seven franchises in the Sri Lankan Premier League (SPL), ignoring the decision of the Indian cricket board not to allow its players to take part in the island's Twenty20 tournament.

The Indian business houses have outbid all others to sweep all the franchises on offer for the league to be played August 10-31. The matches will be played in Colombo and Pallekele. 

Wadhawan Holdings bought Wayamba for the highest bid of $5.02 million while Number One Sports Consulting got Kandurata for $4.98 million.

The Uva and Ruhuna went to Success Sports and Pearl Overseas for $4.6 million. Indian Cricket Dundee bought Basnahira for $4.33 million while Uthura went to Rudra Sports for $3.4 million. Varun Beverages bought Nagenahira for $3.22 million.

Each franchisee will be allowed a maximum of 18 players, including six foreign cricketers. But a team is allowed to play only two foreigners in the playing eleven. The players' draft will be held July 5-6.

Go to top