India's Ravi in ICC panel of umpires for ICC World Cup 2015

Updated: Jan 05, 2015, 11:50 IST | PTI |

Indian umpire S Ravi incluided in 25-member list of match officials for next year's ICC ODI World Cup in Australia and New Zealand

Dubai: Indian umpire S Ravi was today named in a 25-member list of match officials for next year's ICC ODI World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

"The team includes five officials from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, 12 umpires from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and eight umpires from the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires," the ICC said in a statement.

The match referees are David Boon, Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle and Roshan Mahanama.

The elite panel umpires in the list are Aleem Dar, Billy Bowden, Bruce Oxenford, Ian Gould, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Nigel Llong, Paul Reiffel, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Rod Tucker and Steve Davis.

The international panel of umpires for the event comprises Johan Cloete, Simon Fry, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Ranmore Martinesz, Ruchira Palliyaguru, S Ravi and Joel Wilson.

"The eight umpires from the international panel have been identified as emerging and talented match officials, who have already officiated at international level."

The World Cup winners in the line-up are Boon, Dharmasena, Mahanama and Reiffel. Boon was part of Allan Border's side that triumphed in Kolkata in 1987, Dharmasena and Mahanama played in the 1996 final in Lahore and Reiffel represented Australia at Lord's in the 1999 final.

In addition to the four, Crowe represented New Zealand in the 1983 and 1987 World Cups, Broad featured in three matches of the 1987 edition, Illingworth participated in the final of the 1992 event as well as 1996 and Madugalle played in three World Cups -- 1979, 1983 and 1987.

The umpires were chosen by the selection panel of Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager -- Cricket), Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Chief Match Referee), David Lloyd (former player, coach, umpire and now television commentator) and S Venkataraghavan (former elite panel umpire).

Match appointments will be announced closer to the warm-up matches.

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK