India win toss, elect to bat

Published: Nov 15, 2012, 09:23 IST | Agencies |

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat in the opening Test of the four-match series against England at the Sardar Patel Stadium at Motera here today


India left out Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Murali Vijay, Ashok Dinda and Ajinkya Rahane. 
England omitted Steven Finn, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Graham Onions, Eoin Morgan, Monty Panesar and Stuart Meaker, giving opener Nick Compton his first Test cap. 
MS Dhoni
The Teams: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt; wk), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Pragyan Ojha, Zaheer Khan. 12th man: Ajinkya Rahane. 
England: Alastair Cook (capt.), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Nick Compton, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott, Stuart Broad. 12th man: Jonny Bairstow. 

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK