IPL 9: The records centurion Virat Kohli set during his match-winning knock

May 07, 2016, 21:47 IST | A Correspondent

RCB skipper Virat Kohli on Saturday set several IPL records, including breaking on by MI's Sachin Tendulkar, during his match-winning unbeaten 108 against Rising Pune Supergiants at Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) skipper Virat Kohli has a penchant of breaking records and he was at it again during his match-winning knock against Rising Pune Supergiants at Bangalore's M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on Saturday.

Kohli was brilliant as he carried his bat to remain unbeaten at 108 off just 58 balls. His innings included eight fours and seven sixes as the struggling Bangalore franchise finally won a game as they chased down Pune's challenging target of 192 with three balls to spare. This was RCB's third win in eight matches.

Virat Kohli hits one out of the ground during his record-breaking match-winning knock against RPS on Saturday. Pic/AFP
Virat Kohli hits one out of the ground during his record-breaking match-winning knock against RPS on Saturday. Pic/AFP 

Kohli during his innings set several new records in IPL. He became the only batsman in the T20 tournament to have hit two centuries in a single edition -- he had hit an unbeaten 100 against Gujarat Lions at Rajkot on April 24.

Kohli is also now the only captain to have score 500-plus runs in three IPL editions, including 505 in 2015 and 634 in 2013. In doing so, the RCB captain broke Mumbai Indians skipper Sachin Tendulkar's record, who had achieved this feat twice -- 618 runs in 2010 and 553 runs in 2011.

Kohli has so far scored 541 runs in eight matches with two centuries and four half-centuries an average of 90.16 and strike rate of 144.65. He is the current holder of the Orange Cap.

Kohli had in 2013 scored 634 runs, which is also a record as the most runs scored by a captain in IPL.

He had scored 505 runs in 2015 as RCB's captain. Before taking over as captain of RCB, Kohli had accumulated 557 runs in 2011.

Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir and Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner are the two other batsmen to have crossed the 500-run mark in IPL while leading their side. While Gambhir scored 590 runs during KKR 2012 campaign when they claimed their maiden IPL title, Warner was the orange cap holder in 2015 with 562 runs in 14 matches.

Kohli on Saturday joined the likes of Brendon McCullum, Shane Watson, David Warner, AB de Villiers, Adam Gilchrist and Virender Sehwag to hit two IPL centuries overall. The most number of IPL tons -- five -- though still belongs to Kohli's RCB teammate Chris Gayle.

Go to top