IPL 6: Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Pune Warriors for dream debut

Apr 05, 2013, 23:22 IST | Agencies

Sunrisers Hyderabad bowlers showed great discipline and grit to not only defend their small total, but defeat Pune Warriors by a substantial 22-run margin.

The Sunrisers started their maiden IPL campaign on a positive note beating Pune Warriors by 22 runs at the Rajiv Gandhi international stadium in Hyderabad on Friday.

Tearaway pacer Dale Steyn grabbed three wickets in a sensational over as Sunrisers Hyderabad spanked Pune Warriors by 22 runs in a low-scoring tie.

Playing in their first match of the IPL under a new name, the Sunrisers defended a small total of 126 for six with their bowlers producing a disciplined show to bundle out the Warriors for 104 in 18.5 overs at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium.

Thisara Perera
Thisara Perera lofts one during his inniings of 30 for Sunrisers Hyderabad against Pune Warriors in the IPL game at Hyderabad on Friday. 

Steyn dismissed tailenders Bhuvneshwar Kumar (3), Rahul Sharma (0) and Ashok Dinda (0) in the space of four balls in the 19th over to end the Warriors' innings. The South African fast bowler conceded just 11 runs in his 3.5 overs.

Leg-spinner Amit Mishra also claimed three wickets for 19 runs from his four overs while Thisara Perera took two for 29 runs.

The Warriors batsmen fell in quick succession after their openers Robin Uthappa (24) and Manish Pandey (15) raised 36 runs from 41 balls.

From 36 for one in the seventh over, they were reduced to 50 for four in the 12th over and they lost the plot from there.

Uthappa's was the highest score for Warriors while Yuvraj Singh could contribute just two runs.

Chasing a small target, the Warriors made a slow start as they struggled to score against the pace of Steyn and Ishant Sharma.

The Warriors were 18 for no loss at the end of the fifth over before Uthappa decided to take on the Sunrisers bowlers. He first hit Ishant for a six in sixth over before clobbering Perera for three fours on the trot in the next over. But the Sri Lankan bowler had the last laugh as he had the batsman in the penultimate ball of the same over to reduce the Warriors to 36 for one in the seventh over. Two overs later, Perera scalped his second wicket in the form of Marlon Samuels (5) as the batsman gave a simple catch to Cameron White. 

Earlier, the Sunrisers too had failed to impress with their batting as they could score just 126 for six in their opening match.

Put into bat, Sunrisers made a steady start but later lost wickets at a regular interval to post a small total in their first IPL match under a new name at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium.

They failed to stitch any substantial partnership, the highest being the opening stand of 34 from 32 balls between Parthiv Patel (19) and Akshath Reddy (27).

Sri Lankan Thisara Perera top-scored with a 18-ball 30 which he made with the help of three fours and a six while Akshath Reddy was the other notable contributor.

Pune Warriors vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Pune Warriors players celebrate the fall of a Sunrisers Hyderabad wicket.

Warriors' bowlers put up a disciplined effort to deny the home side easy runs.

Pacer Ashok Dinda was the pick of bowlers with two wickets for 29 runs.

Four other bowlers -- Rahul Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Marlon Samuels and Yuvraj Singh -- took a wicket each. Sunrisers made a steady start with Parthiv and Akshath Reddy raising 34 runs for the opening wicket before the former was dismissed by Dinda, clean-bowled for 19 in the sixth over.

Pune, who opened bowling with off-spinner Marlon Samuels, then tightened the grip by removing Sunrisers captain Kumar Sangakkara (15) in the 10th over with leg-spinner Rahul Sharma taking the wicket with a gem of a ball.

Sangakkara was beaten in the flight and as he charged out for a big hit, the tossed-up delivery went past his bat before hitting the middle stump.

The home side skipper hit two fours in his 16-ball knock and Sunrisers were 60 for two when Sangakkara was out and with half their innings over.

Rahul Sharma was bowling at his best at that stage with one wicket at the expense of just six runs in two overs. Yuvraj Singh played his part with his left-arm spin as he clean-bowled opener Akshath Reddy with a quicker delivery as Sunrisers were reduced to 72 for three in the 13th over.

Sunrisers struggled for runs as they were 87 for four at the end of the 15th over The home side tried their best to get maximum runs in the last five overs but could add just 39 with Perera scoring most of the runs.

Earlier, Mathews won the toss and elected to field in their opening IPL match against Sunrisers Hyderabad in Hyderabad on Friday.

Missing from the line-up of the Sunrisers Hyderabad is star batsman Shikhar Dhawan. Pune Warriors, too, have suffered a setback when Australian Michael Clarke was ruled out of the entire IPL season due to a recurring back injury.

Brief Scores:

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 126 for 6 in 20 overs (Thisara Perera 30, Akshath Reddy 27, Ashik Dinda 2/29).

Pune Warriors: 104 all out in 18.5 overs (Robin Uthappa 24; Dale Steyn 3/11, Amit Mishra 3/19)

The Teams: 

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kumar Sangakkara (capt.), Akshath Reddy, Parthiv Patel (wk), Cameron White, Hanuma Vihari, Thisara Perera, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Amit Mishra, Ashish Reddy, Dale Steyn, Ishant Sharma.

Pune Warriors: Angelo Mathews (capt.), Robin Uthappa (wk), Manish Pandey, Ross Taylor, Yuvraj Singh, Marlon Samuels, Mitchell Marsh, Abhishek Nayar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashok Dinda, Rohit Sharma.

Go to top