Irani Cup: Naman Ojha to lead Rest of India team against Mumbai

Feb 26, 2016, 20:16 IST | Agencies

Wicketkeeper-batsman Naman Ojha, who represents Madhya Pradesh in the Ranji Trophy, will skipper the Rest of India in the Irani Cup against Ranji champions Mumbai.

Pune: Madhya Pradesh wicket-keeper batsman Naman Ojha will lead the Rest of India team when they clash with Mumbai during the Irani Cup at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai from March 6th to 10th.

"The All-India National Selection Committee met on Friday and announced the Rest of India team for Paytm Z.R. Irani Cup, 2016," BCCI Secretary Anurag Thakur said in a release.

"The Rest of India team will play against Mumbai, the Paytm Ranji Trophy 2015-16 champions, at the Cricket Club of India, Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai from the 6th of March to the 10th of March 2016."

Naman Ojha

Ojha has played one Test match, one One-Day International and two Twenty20 Internationals for India.

Mumbai won the Ranji Trophy for a record 41st time on Friday with a comprehensive innings and 21 run victory over Saurashtra on day three of the five-day final.

Irani Trophy is named after Z.R. Irani, who was associated with the BCCI from its inception in 1928 till his death in 1970.

Karnataka had last year beaten Rest of India to lift the Irani Cup.

Rest of India (RoI) Team: Naman Ojha (Captain), KS Bharat, Faiz Fazal, Karun Nair, Sheldon Jackson, Stuart Binny, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, Nathu Singh, Jaydev Unadkat, Barinder Sran, Krishna Das, Sudeep Chatterjee, Ian Dev Singh, Akshay Wakhare.

Go to top