It's Amol again!

Published: Nov 18, 2012, 08:24 IST | A Correspondent |

Muzumdar reclaims Ranji Trophy's highest run-getter record, surpassing Jaffer's 8320

Nadaun (Himachal Pradesh): Former Mumbai skipper Amol Muzumdar on Saturday became the highest run-getter in the history of Ranji Trophy after his fluent century against Himachal Pradesh helped Andhra to finish Day One at 331 for seven in their Group ‘C’ match. 

Amol Muzumdar
Amol Muzumdar

Bodapati Sumanth scored 102 to put the visitors in a commanding position at the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Stadium. Muzumdar, who moved to Andhra this season, started the match 68 runs behind Wasim Jaffer’s record Ranji run-tally of 8320.

His 101-run knock helped him reclaim a record he had earlier held before Jaffer overtook his tally.  In the process, Muzumdar, , who recently became the most capped Ranji player, also completed his 24th century in Ranji Trophy history, drawing level with Vinod Kambli’s tally.

Haryana shot for 66
Elsewhere, Haryana were shell-shocked when minnows Odisha bundled them out for a paltry 66 in a third round Ranji Trophy encounter in Rohtak.
This was the second time in just three matches that Haryana have been shot out for less than 100.

Pacer Basant Mohanty made the most of the helpful conditions, grabbing five for 24 in 11.1 overs as the home team were all-out in 32.1 overs. He was well supported by Biplab Samantray, who claimed three for 17.

For the hosts, only Abhimanyu Khode and Rahul Dalal with scores of 12 and 21 respectively reached double figures for Haryana.  Odisha were 177 for six, a handy 111-run first innings lead, at the end of Day One’s play. Skipper Natraj Behra (44), Samantray (42) and Deepak Behra (31) made
useful contributions to beef up the lead.

Rajasthan on top
Meanwhile, defending champions Rajasthan did well to restrict Madhya Pradesh to 256 on the opening day of the Group ‘A’ tie in Jaipur.
Pacers Pankaj Singh (4-63) and Rituraj Singh (4-68) shared eight wickets between them. MP hit back by reducing the hosts to seven for one at close on an eventful day at the K L Saini Stadium in Mansarovar.

Kaif’s ton bails out UP
Karnataka debutant Hosagivappa Sharath claimed five for 44, including that of Suresh Raina, before Mohammad Kaif bailed Uttar Pradesh out of trouble with an unbeaten century (105) on the first day of their Group ‘B’ tie in Meerut.

Besides the left-handed Raina, the 19-year-old medium pacer sent back opener Ali Murtuza, and middle-order batsmen Parvinder Singh and Arish Alam after his team chose to field at the Bhamashah Stadium.

Tamil Nadu struggle
Maharashtra came up with an impressive bowling effort to restrict last year’s finalist Tamil Nadu to 273 for nine in their first innings at stumps at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

Pacers Shrikant Mundhe (3-38) and Samad Fallah (2-49) shared five wickets between them while spin trio of Akshai Darekar (2-86), Satyajit Bachhav (1-48) and Chirag Khurana (1-30) accounted for other  Tamil Nadu wickets to fall on the day. 

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK