Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Jennifer Lopez new members of Academy

Jul 01, 2013, 02:20 IST | PTI

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has unveiled 276 names including Grammy winner Prince, Jennifer Lopez, "The Hangover" helmer Todd Phillips, who have been invited to join the organisation this year.

In the Actors category, "Don Jon" star and director Joseph Gordon-Levitt has been invited to vote for the Oscars next year.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Jennifer Lopez
Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Jennifer Lopez

Danny Trejo, Milla Jovovich. Jason Bateman, Chris Tucker, Lucy Liu, Sandra Oh, Rebecca Hall and Paula Patton are some other stars that are on the list, reported Ace Showbiz.

Another interesting selection of invitees is the Directors category, which includes Nikolaj Arcel, whose 2012 movie "A Royal Affair" earned Oscar nomination for Best Foreign Language Film, and duo Joachim Ronning and Espen Sandberg, the men behind Oscar and Golden Globe-nominated "Kon-Tiki".

"The Heat" helmer Paul Feig is added to it as well. Additionally, "Tiny Furniture" writer/director/actress Lena Dunham, "The Simpsons" creator Matt Groening and "Paranormal Activity" producer Jason Blum are among other new members. "These individuals are among the best filmmakers working in the industry today.

Their talent and creativity have captured the imagination of audiences worldwide, and I am proud to welcome each of them to the Academy," Academy president Hawk Koch said in a statement. 

Go to top