Know your constituency: The big fight in Parvati

Oct 01, 2014, 04:30 IST | Anuj Ismail

Continuing the series to help voters make an informed decision, mid-day examines the political dynamics and candidates in the Parvati constituency where rebels could give a tough time to political outfits

The three-way division of slum votes between Congress, NCP and its rebels and the simmering dissidence in BJP will make the fight in this constituency interesting

Madhuri Misal (BJP)

Constituency history
The assembly constituency of Parvati has traditionally been considered a Congress stronghold. The BJP has so far won only three times – 1995, 1999 and 2009 – in the last three decades. After the delimitation of constituencies in 2009, a few sections of Parvati were included in the Pune Cantonment constituency. That year, the BJP’s Madhuri Misal got an opportunity to contest from Parvati and she became the first woman to represent the constituency.


Local dynamics
The constituency comprises of large slums such as Dias plot and Parvati Darshan, as well as middle and upper-middle class segments like Sahakar Nagar and Bibwewadi. The votes have traditionally gone to the Congress and BJP. However, this time, Madhuri Misal’s candidature was openly opposed by a few corporators of her party, like Shrinath Bhimale, who had demanded a ticket for either him or his wife. Misal will also face a tough fight from Sachin Taware, previously an NCP candidate who defected to Shiv Sena. Taware has a strong presence in Parvati village and Parvati Darshan area, a traditional vote base for the Congress and NCP. Congress corporator, Aba Bagul, has fielded his wife Jayshree as independent candidate, while Bagul’s colleague from the PMC, Subhash Jagtap, also has a good chance of winning. Congress’ official candidate, Abhay Chhajed, has an edge over his opponents in areas like Mukund Nagar, Maharshi Nagar and Dias plot.

3,36,270 Total number of voters in the constituency

Number of Voters 64,959

2014 candidates
Abhay Chhajed (Congress), Subhash Jagtap (NCP), Madhuri Misal (BJP), Sachin Taware (Shiv Sena), Jairaj Landge (MNS), Jayshree Bagul (Independent)

Voters' voices

Fattechand RankaFattechand Ranka, president, Pune Saraf Association
The new government should be stable, which will help promote local business and it should do away with archaic rules. The MLAs should take the right steps to utilise the taxes efficiently for the benefit of people. Rural areas of the constituency should be developed so that we can reduce the number of people migrating to cities.

Pramod PatePramod Pate, Developer
The upcoming government and our local representatives, including MLAs, should work on environment-related issues on priority basis. Aside from a stable government, the decision-making of the leaders should be prompt that will help move things faster.

Go to top