Kohli-led Indian team departs for Zimbabwe

Jul 22, 2013, 01:26 IST | IANS

A 15-member Indian cricket squad, led by Virat Kohli, left here on a Zimbabwe tour yesterday morning. The team will play five one-day internatioanals against Zimbabwe over the 11-day tour, starting July 24.

Regular Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been rested by the national selectors to give him some respite from international cricket.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

The selectors have also rested frontline seamers - Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin.

The young Indian team will see two new faces - Jammu and Kashmir all-rounder Parvez Rasool and fast bowler Mohit Sharma.

Back in 2010...
India on their previous tour of Zimbabwe in 2010 failed to even reach the final of a tri-series tournament, also involving Sri Lanka.

The then Indian team led by Suresh Raina also had Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Vinay Kumar and Rohit Sharma. They are included in the current squad as well.

India did pull off the two-match Twenty20 series 2-0 win against the hosts after the tri-series. 

Go to top