Maharashtra Election Results Live Updates: Counting of votes from 8 am on October 24

Updated: Oct 24, 2019, 10:10 IST | mid-day online correspondent | Mumbai

Follow Mid-day's live blog for all the latest updates on Maharashtra Assembly Elections. Tune in from 7:30 am for the realtime updates on the Maharashtra Assembly Election Results 2019

This picture has been used for representational purpose only
This picture has been used for representational purpose only

The Election Commission will start the counting of votes from 8 am onwards on October 24 for the Assembly Elections held in Maharashtra and Haryana. The single-phase voting for the 288 assembly constituencies in Maharashtra was held on October 21, 2019. Maharashtra recorded a voter turnout of 60 per cent, which was less compared to the 63 per cent turnout during the 2014 Assembly Elections.

Exit polls have predicted a comfortable win for the ruling BJP-Shiv Sena alliance government in the state. Around 25,000 personnel are deployed on counting duty, an election official said, adding police have also made adequate arrangements to ensure a smooth counting process.

While the state fared poorly, Mumbai put up a dismal performance with a voter turnout of 50 per cent. The city had a voter turnout of 52.5 per cent in the 2014 elections.

Although the fate and the future of the voters have been sealed in the EVM machines, the leads would predict the result of the assembly elections by noon. The Maharashtra Assembly Elections Results 2019 will reveal the fate of the political parties which contested the recently concluded assembly elections.


The major parties that are contesting the Maharashtra Assembly Elections are the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Shiv Sena, Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS). In the 2014 Maharashtra Assembly Elections, Sena won 63 seats, while the BJP emerged as the single largest party with 122 seats.

BJP leader and sitting MLA from Nagpur Devendra Fadnavis was elected as the party leader and later went on to become the 18th Chief Minister of Maharashtra. He also became the second-youngest chief minister of the state at the age of 44 when he took the oath as the CM of Maharashtra on October 31, 2014.

Also Read: Maharashtra Assembly Election Results 2019: Date, Time of Counting Of Votes; All you need to know

Catch up on all the latest Crime, National, International and Hatke news here. Also download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get latest updates

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from


Assembly Election Results 2019: Counting for Maharashtra and Harayana begins today

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK