Major rupture in Maharashtra AAP: Founding member Bhapkar and 376 activists join Swaraj Abhiyan

May 05, 2015, 10:03 IST | PTI

Accusing Arvind Kejriwal of 'murdering democracy' in the Aam Aadmi Party, around 350 party activists and leaders joined the Swaraj Abhiyan, floated by expelled AAP leaders Yogendra Yadav and Prashant Bhushan

Pune: In what appeared to be a major breach in Maharashtra unit of Aam Aadmi Party, Maruti Bhapkar, one of its founding members, today quit the party along with 376 activists, condemning the "dictatorial" attitude of AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal.

Holding a press conference here this evening, Bhapkar declared allegiance to 'Swaraj Abhiyan' launched by the expelled leaders Prashant Bhushan and Yogendra Yadav.

Bhapkar, who was convener of AAP's western Maharashtra unit, said in a letter sent to AAP's national convener and Delhi Chief Minister Kejriwal today, "I wish to resign...and not be a party to the growing sins of yours and your coterie".

"Swaraj Abhiyan, which is a movement at present, can become a party after getting feedback of workers at the national level. We feel that a majority of our supporters are in favour of floating a new party," he said at the press conference.

In the letter, Bhapkar cited instances of Kejriwal's objectionable style of functioning, including the "dictatorial manner" in which March 28 national council meeting was conducted and the "illegal and immoral" manner in which Yadav, Bhushan, Ananth Kumar and Ajit Jha were prevented from speaking, as well as the manhandling of Ramzan Choudhary.

Swaraj Abhiyan will initiate a free dialogue with people to know their problems and launch agitations at various levels starting from the village units, he said. "Hundreds of active erstwhile AAP workers will build up and strengthen the Swaraj Abhiyan in Maharashtra, starting with meetings in 19 districts," he added.

A list of activists, who have resigned along with Bhapkar, was released at the press conference. It includes 32 office-bearers from 19 districts and five members who had contested the last Lok Sabha elections on the AAP ticket.

Go to top