Malfunctioning EVMs delay result by 3 hours at polling station in Kalyan's APMC market

May 17, 2014, 07:28 IST | Ankoor Anvekar

The counting of votes were held up at Kalyan’s APMC market polling station, as 3 machines suffered technical glitches

The large crowd of supporters from political parties gathered outside Kalyan’s APMC market polling station, eagerly awaiting the results, ended up waiting longer than expected. Three EVM machines suffered technical glitches, delaying the counting of votes by almost three hours.

Shiv Sena-BJP candidate Srikanth Shinde secured more than 4.4 lakh votes, emerging as the winner for Kalyan constituency. Pic/Prashant Waydande
Shiv Sena-BJP candidate Srikanth Shinde secured more than 4.4 lakh votes, emerging as the winner for Kalyan constituency. Pic/Prashant Waydande

People had started gathering outside the venue from 7 am, and by mid-afternoon, Shiv Sena was leading in the constituency. However, around 3 pm, three polling machines witnessed technical faults and counting resumed only after three hours.

'Unknown error'
Milind Gavade, the election returning officer of Kalyan constituency said, “The exact cause of glitch is currently unknown. We have informed the Election Commission about the problem and the decision will be taken according.”

Excluding the count of non-working machines, Shiv Sena candidate, Dr Srikanth Shinde has emerged as winner against NCP’s Anand Paranjpe and MNS’s Raju Patil.

Ramesh Bhoir, a resident of Kalyan said, “I arrived at the venue around 8 am and wanted to wait till the final count. However, we found out that some machines had stopped working. We had to wait for a few more hours for the results.”

With a huge turnover at the polling station, juice vendors ended up making big bucks within a few hours. Raju, a sugarcane juice seller said, “On a normal day, I sell around 50-150 glasses per day, today I sold almost 400 glasses, as the crowd had to wait longer in the sweltering heat because of the delay.”

'Are you sure you got that right?'
Disappointment was writ large on Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam’s face, as the sitting MP came face to face with the figures that confirmed his massive defeat to Gopal Shetty of the BJP. Shetty won the Mumbai North seat with a massive margin of 3.8 lakh votes.

Sanjay Nirupam

The Mumbai North constituency is populated by Gujaratis and north Indians. It consists of suburbs like Borivli, Kandivli (East), Charkop, Malad (West) and Dahisar. The MNS did not contest the seat, in keeping with the party’s policy of not opposing BJP candidates.

Chavan accepts moral responsibility for poll debacle
State Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan today described the unprecedented defeat of the Congress in the Lok Sabha elections as ‘unexpected’, and said that he accepted full moral responsibility for the debacle.

Prithviraj Chavan

“The results are unexpected and we accept the mandate of the people. UPA initiated several welfare measures, but the Congress did not get the expected results. I take full responsibility for the defeat. I thank the people who voted for the UPA, and congratulate Narendra Modi,” he said. Congress, which had 17 Lok Sabha seats, was reduced to just two Lok Sabha. The BJP won 23 Lok Sabha seats, and the Shiv Sena won 18.

Go to top