Manmohan Singh turns 87: Top leaders extend greetings

Updated: Sep 26, 2019, 13:26 IST | mid-day online correspondent | New Delhi

Manmohan Singh celebrates his 87th birthday today and leaders from different parties extended their wishes on Twitter

 Manmohan Singh
Manmohan Singh

Manmohan Singh, an economist and politician who served as the Prime Minister of India from 2004 to 2014 was born on 26 September 1932. Apart from being the first Sikh in office, he was also the first prime minister since Jawaharlal Nehru to be re-elected after completing a full five-year term. Manmohan Singh was born to Gurmukh Singh and Amrit Kaur in Gah, Punjab. 

On his 87th birthday, netizens took to social media platform, Twitter to extend wishes and greetings. This is how the internet reacted: 

Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh took oath as a member of the Rajya Sabha on August 23,2019. Top Congress leaders Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ahmed Patel and Anand Sharma were among those who were present during the oath-taking in the Chairman's chamber which was administered by Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu. Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, and his deputy Sachin Pilot and some BJP leaders were also present. Singh, 86, returned as a member of the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan.

He was elected unopposed as the BJP did not put up a candidate against him. Manmohan returned to the Rajya Sabha after a brief gap since his retirement from the Upper House on June 14 this year. He had earlier represented the state of Assam in Rajya Sabha for around 28 years. He was elected to Rajya Sabha in 1991, 1995, 2001, 2007 and 2013. He was also the Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha during 1998-2004 and Leader of the House as the Prime Minister during 2004-14.

Catch up on all the latest Crime, National, International and Hatke news here. Also download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get latest updates

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from


Maharashtra Assembly Polls: Famous politicians cast their vote

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK