MiD-DAY's cricketing awards for the year 2011

Dec 31, 2011, 06:47 IST | Agencies

Sourav Ganguly going unsold in the Indian Premier League auction in January. However, he had illustrious names for company -- Sanath Jayasuriya, Brian Lara, Chris Gayle and Mark Boucher.

Shock of the year
Sourav Ganguly going unsold in the Indian Premier League auction in January. However, he had illustrious names for company -- Sanath Jayasuriya, Brian Lara, Chris Gayle and Mark Boucher. 

Ganguly ultimately figured in the Twenty20 circus when he was drafted in the Pune Warriors squad as a replacement for Ashish Nehra.

Runaway act of the year
Ajit Agarkar, who packed up and left Cuttack for home after discovering he wasn't in the Mumbai Ranji Trophy playing XI against Orissa.

Teammate of the year

Zaheer Khan for coming out in support of Ajit Agarkar's walk-out and slamming the Mumbai coach Sulakshan Kulkarni and chief selector Milind Rege.

Australian of the year
Ricky Ponting for his role in breaking Aussie tradition of playing in the side after being sacked as captain.

All-rounder of the year
Rajiv Shukla for being MP, BCCI functionary, BCCI spokesperson and now Indian Premier League commissioner, taking over from Chirayu Amin.

Late Latif of the year
Vinod Kambli, who decided to wake up from his slumber and tell the world that he felt there was something fishy in the World Cup semi-final he played way back in 1996.

Hope of the year
Sachin Tendulkar, for providing so much hope for his 100th hundred without managing to reach his milestone.

Umpire of the year
Daryl Harper for showing guts to slam the ICC for its leniency towards Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who the umpire felt intimidated him in the Jamaica Test against West Indies. 

Harper decided against standing in his farewell Test at Dominica as a mark of protest.Yesterday, he described India's attitude to the DRS as ludicrous and frustrating.

Wall of the year
Not Rahul Dravid, but his employers -- the BCCI -- for avoiding the Decision Review System successfully.

Luckless man of the year

Rahul Dravid for his three magnificent hundreds in England where his team ended up losing all their four Tests.

Mr Humble of the year

Greg Chappell for admitting that he should have handled Sachin Tendulkar better when he was coach of India.

Author of the year
Former BCCI secretary J Y Lele for pulling no punches in his autobiography and bringing up the shortcomings of big cricketing personalities like Kapil Dev and Sachin Tendulkar fearlessly.

Busybee of the year

Anil Kumble for being president of the Karnataka State Cricket Association, mentor of Royal Challengers Bangalore, director of sports management firm Tenvic and National Cricket Academy chief. In the end, he was accused of conflict of interest.

Patriot of the year
Ravi Shastri for saying on air that England are jealous of India's cricketing might and success during the Trent Bridge India vs England Test.

Straight face of the year

Spinner Graeme Swann for slamming Kevin Pietersen in his book and still managing to be in the same England dressing room.

Tweeter of the year
Shane Warne for his relentless effort in making people aware of what is going on in his family life, love life, poker life, business life and cricketing life. His is one exciting life.

Bowler of the Year

Mahendra Singh Dhoni for abandoning his wicketkeeping pads and running into bowl in the Lord's Test against England.

Cricketing dad of the year
Krishnamachari Srikkanth, who as chief national selector, picked his son Anirudha to represent India in the Emerging Players tournament in Australia.

Googly of the year
To the Mumbai Cricket Association managing committee for announcing a Day Four sell-out on the evening of the third day during the India vs West Indies Test at Wankhede Stadium. Yet, the stadium was full of empty seats on the fourth day.

Go to top