MiD DAY highlights the changes in the T20 tourney on IPL-I anniversary

Jun 01, 2012, 08:57 IST | A Correspondent

MiD DAY tells you what has changed in the T20 extravaganza since the inaugural final on June 1, 2008

>> Then Rajasthan Royals captain Shane Warne is no longer part of IPL. His farewell match was against Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede on May 20, 2011.

>> Man of the 2008 final, Yusuf Pathan is now part of IPL-V champions Kolkata Knight Riders. However, he didn’t hit the high notes and was one of the flops of Edition V

Rajasthan Royals celebrate their Indian Premier League 2008 triumph at the DY Patil Stadium in Nerul.  Pic/Atul Kamble

>> Umpire Rudi Koertzen, who stood in the 2008 final, is no more an ICC official. He last officiated on July 24, 2010 during Aus vs Pak Test at Leeds.

Shane Warne 

>> Pakistan players are not part of the IPL anymore after the 2008 terror attacks in Mumbai. Royals’ Sohail Tanvir was awarded the Best Bowler prize for IPL 1
>> After the 2008 IPL final, DY Patil Stadium hosted only four neutral games — the semi-finals, 3rd place play-off and final in 2010. DY was the home ground for Deccan Chargers in 2010 while in 2011, it played host to Pune Warriors.

Yusuf Pathan

>> Chennai Super Kings played three finals after this and were crowned champions twice

>> Royals failed to qualify for the top four after being crowned champions in Season One

Rudi Koertzen

>> Number of teams increased from eight to 10 in 2011. Kochi were disqualified for Season V

>> Except Shane Watson, none from Royals’ 2008 playing XIare part of the current squad

>> Then IPL commissioner Lalit Modi is no more on the hot seat

Sohail Tanvir

Chennai Super Kings: P Patel c Akmal b Pathan 38, S Vidyut c Jadeja b Pathan 16, S Raina c Jadeja b Watson 43, J Morkel c Akmal b Pathan 16, MS Dhoni not out 29, C Kapugedera c Asnodkar b Sohail Tanvir 8, S Badrinath not out 6. 
Extras: (B1, Lb2, W3, Nb1) 7. Total: (five wickets; 20 overs)163
Fall of wickets 1-39, 2-64, 3-95, 4-128, 5-148.
Bowling: Sohail Tanvir 4-0-40-1, Watson 4-0-29-1, Munaf 2-0-14-0, Y Pathan 4-0-22-3, Trivedi 2-0-21-0, Warne 4-0-34-0.
Rajasthan Royals: N Patel b Gony 2, S Asnodkar c Raina b Morkel 28, Kamran Akmal run out 6, S Watson b Muralitharan 28, Y Pathan run out 56, M Kaif c Dhoni b Muralitharan 12, R Jadeja c Kapugedera b Morkel 0, S Warne not out 9, Sohail Tanvir not out 9. 
Extras: (B1, Lb6, W5, Nb 2) 14 . Total: (seven wickets; 20 overs) 164. 
Fall of wickets: 1-19, 2-41, 3-42, 4-107, 5-139, 6-139, 7-143 .
Bowling: Ntini 4-1-21-0, Gony 4-0-30-1, Morkel 4-0-25-2, Balaji 4-0-42-0, Muralitharan 4-0-39-2.
Result: Rajasthan Roayls won by three wickets (last ball result)

Go to top