mid-day photographer's Tendulkar picture bags best photo award

Updated: Jan 18, 2016, 10:47 IST | Agencies |

Our photographer Atul Kamble's iconic photo of Sachin walking out of the dressing room in his farewell Test match in Mumbai, was declared winner in the MFI-YES BANK National Press Photo Contest 2014

Our photographer Atul Kamble added another feather to his cap after his iconic photograph of Sachin Tendulkar walking out of the dressing room on November 15 in his farewell Test match at Wankhede Stadium, was adjudged the winner in the MFI-YES BANK National Press Photo Contest 2014.

The photograph was selected unanimously by the three-member panel of judges comprising award-winning photojournalists Pablo Bartholomew, Arko Datta and Rafeeq Ellias.

The competition received well over 8,000 entries. The image had also bagged the prestigious title of the Wisden-MCC Cricket Photograph of the Year 2013 earlier this year, from among 500 worldwide entries.

Atul KambleAtul Kamble

Kamble will receive a prize money of Rs.75,000 for the photo, which was also adjudged the best in the sports category.

Also read: mid-day's Atul Kamble wins 2013 Wisden-MCC cricket photo award

The awards ceremony will be held here next month.

Other winners

Twenty-two other photojournalists, who won prizes in six categories, will be awarded cash prizes of Rs.50,000, Rs.30,000 and Rs.20,000. They are:

Spot News - First Prize: Raju Shinde/Mumbai Mirror, Second: Ravi Sahani/Freelancer, and Third: Manvender Vashist/PTI.

General News - Ronny Sen/Freelancer, Raul Irani/OPEN magazine and Vijayanand Gupta/Hindustan Times, Honourable Mention - Arindam Dey/Agence France Presse

Daily Life - Anindito Mukherjee/Thomson Reuters, Biswaranjan Rout/Associated Press and Harish Tyagi/European Pressphoto Agency, Honourable Mention - Sanjeev Syal/Freelancer.

Arts and Culture - Second Prize to Raj K. Raj/Hindustan Times, Third Prize to K.R. Deepak/The Hindu, Honourable Mention - Ajit Solanki/Associated Press.

Sports - Atul Kamble/Mid Day, Amit Chakravarty/Indian Express and Divyakant Solanki/European Pressphoto Agency, Honorable Mention - Ajay Aggarwal/Hindustan Times.

Best Photo Story - Harikrishna Katragadda/Fountain Ink, Abhijit Patil/Freelancer and A. Raja Chidambaram/The New Indian Express, Honorable Mention - Subrata Biswas/Hindustan Times.

The jury comprised Pablo Batholomew, Arko Datta and Rafeeq Ellias and the awards were announced in the presence of Yes Bank CEO and managing director Rana Kapoor here Wednesday evening.

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK