Mithilesh Jaiswal overjoyed at gold medal!

Published: 21 December, 2013 09:34 IST | Sundari Iyer |

15-year-old, who broke the U-16 100m meet record at MSSA's athletic championships, credits England's hurdler James Millar with making him a champion

Mithilesh Jaiswal of Arya Vidya Mandir (Bandra) defended his boys’ U-16 100m title in style by creating a new meet record at the Mumbai Schools Sports Association (MSSA) inter-school Athletic Championships at Goregaon Sports Club yesterday.

Mithilesh Jaiswal
Mithilesh Jaiswal (centre) during his 100m run at the MSSA inter-school Athletic Championships at Goregaon Sports Club yesterday. Pic/Nimesh Dave

Mithilesh, who clocked 11.3 seconds, broke the previous record of 11.5 secs jointly held by Adarsh English Medium School’s Anurag Khopkar (2010), Raiyan Banaji (2005), Vivek Sequeira (1995) and Ashish Agarwal (1999).

Mithilesh won gold ahead of Sahib Singh of Jasudben M L School, Khar (11.8 secs) and Yash Zad of Children’s Academy, Kandivli (12.0 secs).

In the 200m run, the 15-year-old had finished first clocking 23.6 secs. Sahib came second with a timing of 24.0 secs while Alden Noronha took 24.4 secs to cover the distance.

Mithilesh credited his improved performance to a training stint with England’s 400m hurdler James Millar in May this year.

“It takes years of hard work to improve your timing by three mini-seconds for a short distance athlete. Earlier, my personal best timing was 11.6 secs.

But I am surprised that I have bettered it by three mini-seconds, which is huge. I am glad that his (Millar) training techniques have helped me improve so much.

I hope to do well in the upcoming national-level meet at next month,” said the Class 10 student.

Mithilesh has performed consistently in other athletic events too. At the ICSE board national-level meet in Kerala, he won gold medals in the 100m and 200m events and a silver at the 400m. At the District Sports Office state meet, held at the Kandivli sports campus, he won gold medal in the 100m and 200m run. 

Meanwhile in the girls U-16 category, St Agnes High School’s Mariya Karachiwala clocked 12.9 secs to win the gold medal while Sarika Volla (13.2 secs) finished second, and Sonia Rodrigues (13.3 seconds) came third.

Individual championship winners:
G-U-8: Megan Fernandes; G-U-10: Shruti Shetty; G-U-12: Disha Joshi; G-U-14: Vishakha Upadhyay; G-U-16: Sarika Volla; B-U-8: Neil Kasar; B-U-10: Urvish Pokhriyal; B-U-12: Saptarshi Das; B-U-14: Yash Sukhwani 

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK