MS Dhoni in race for prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

Published: 04 December, 2013 00:27 IST | IANS |

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the only Indian in the running for cricket's highest Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricketer of the Year.

Dhoni along with Hashim Amla (South Africa), James Anderson (England), Michael Clarke (Australia), Alastair Cook (England) and Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) was named Tuesday in the short-list for nominees for the prestigious award.

This and other awards will be announced in a TV show that will be broadcast Dec 14. Dhoni also features among the nominees for the ODI Player of the Year along with compatriots Shikhar Dhawan and Ravindra Jadeja.

India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and batsman Cheteshwar Pujara are in running for the ICC Test Player of the Year award.

Anderson, Amla and Michael Clarke are the three cricketers who have been short-listed for both the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year and the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year.

The LG ICC Awards shortlists announced by ICC chief executive David Richardson see 12 countries represented across the categories for the top individual prizes in international cricket.

The Twenty20 International (T20I) Performance of the year sees Sri Lanka's Ajantha Mendis being short-listed alongside Pakistan's Umar Gul and New Zealanders Martin Guptill and Brendon McCullum.

In the short-list for the ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year, last year's winner Stafanie Taylor is joined by New Zealand captain Suzie Bates, Australia's Meg Lanning, South Africa's Dane van Niekerk and the England pair of Charlotte Edwards and Anya Shrubsole.

Taylor, Bates and Lanning also feature in the short-list for the ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year, along with England's Sarah Taylor and the West Indies' duo of Shanel Daley and Deandra Dottin.

The long-lists of nominations for each award were put together by a five-person ICC selection panel, before a 32-member voting academy trimmed the nominees to the short-lists.

The ICC selection panel was chaired by former India captain and current chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Anil Kumble. The panel also includes former internationals Alec Stewart of England, Catherine Campbell of New Zealand, Waqar Younis of Pakistan and Graeme Pollock of South Africa.

The David Shepherd Trophy for the ICC Umpire of the Year award was voted on by the 10 current Test captains and the Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees and is partly based on the umpires' performance statistics.

ICC Awards 2013 nominees
Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), James Anderson (Eng), Michael Clarke (Aus), Alastair Cook (Eng), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind), Kumar Sangakkara (SL) 

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK