Mumbai Hockey Association to host West Zone sub-junior nationals

Apr 09, 2013, 00:55 IST | SUNDARI IYER

The Mumbai Hockey Association (MHA) will host the Hockey India West Zone sub-junior (U-17) nationals for boys and girls at the Churchgate stadium from April 11-16.

Eight boys teams and as many girls outfits will take part in the tournament. The teams are: MP hockey academy, Chhattisgarh Hockey, Hockey Rajasthan, Hockey Bhopal, The Hockey Maharashtra, Goan Hockey, Mumbai Hockey Association and Hockey Gujarat.

Meanwhile, MHA secretary Ram Singh Rathor said yesterday that their decision to join hands with Hockey India was due to their belief that players and officials in the city must not suffer.

“We got the associate membership with HI to give a chance to our players to play for India. Our players were earlier losing out on this chance. We didn’t have time to hold an AGM but we will inform the members soon,” said Rathor during the announcement yesterday.

MHA has also roped in two former India captains Anil Aldrin and Viren Rasquinha on its seven-member advisory body, which has five other internationals — Darryl D Souza, Davinder Kumar, Girish Pimple, Cornelis D Costa and Edgar Mascarenhas — on its panel.

Rasquinha said that his decision to join the board was not due to the lure of a post but to give back to Mumbai hockey. “We want to stop all the controversies and focus on improving the falling hockey standards in the city. It hurts me that Mumbai, once the nursery of hockey players, is nowhere today. I hope that we can change that,” said Rasquinha. 

Go to top