Mumbai Metro, BEST to raise integrated transport points for phase III

Updated: 09 December, 2014 19:52 IST | A Correspondent |

To ensure seamless travel, Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation and BEST have joined hands to develop integrated transport points along the Colaba-Seepz underground metro corridor

There is a good news for commuters who will travel in the completely underground Colaba-Bandra Seepz (CBS) Metro line three, with the Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation Ltd (MMRCL) will work together with the Brihanmumbai Electric Supply and Transport Undertaking (BEST) having joined hands to develop a "passenger integration system".

MMRCL and BEST will develop major bus stations into a integrated transport points to help make the commuters' lives easier.

Upcoming undergroung Metro Line ll From Colaba-Bandra Seepz (CBS)
Representational Picture

MMRCL in its recently held board meeting has given a nod to integrate three such existing bus stations with the upcoming underground metro line III, which will run from Colaba up to SEEPZ via the Domestic and International Airports.

“The entire length of 33.5 km metro line III alignment passes through major BEST stations/depots and various open plots. In order to have better integration facility of the BEST with metro stations wherever possible, it has been decided to involve the BEST and explore the possibility of joint development and commercial exploitation,” said MMRCL Managing Director Sanjay Sethi.

BEST owns or is in possession of various lands in Mumbai. It was observed during the board meeting that BEST services and metro stations can be integrated to ensure seamless travel.

"The first three BEST stations identified for the integration are Hutatma Chowk on DN road, Science Museum station on E Moses road (to be integrated via subway link with Ambika Mill BEST Depot) and Seepz station to be jointly developed and integrated with SEEPZ bus terminal," added Sethi.

The idea is that the underground portion of these stations will be utilised by MMRCL; while BEST will be integrating passenger traffic on the ground. The entire cost of the construction of these systems will be borne by MMRC.

About Metro Line-3

The Colaba-SEEPZ Metro-3 corridor is expected to carry 39,000 commuters per hour per direction (13.9 Lakh commuters daily) in the year 2021 and 42,000 commuters per hour per direction (17 Lakh commuters daily) in the year 2031.

MMRDA will be inviting Request For Proposal (RFP) from the bidders in coming months after which the tunneling work of the metroline three will start next year.

Names of station on CBS metro line three

The 27 stations on the Colaba-SEEPZ Metro corridor are – Cuffe Parade, Vidhan Bhavan, Churchgate, Hutatma Chowk, CST Metro, Kalbadevi, Girgaon, Grant Road, Mumbai Central, Mahalaxmi Metro, Science Museum, Acharya Atre Chowk, Worli, Siddhi Vinayak, Dadar Metro, Shitaladevi Temple, Dharavi, BKC Metro, Vidya Nagari, Santacruz, Chhatrapati Shivaji Airport (Domestic), Sahar Road, Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport, Marol Naka, MIDC, SEEPZ and Aarey Colony.

Around Rs 24 thousand crore is the cost of the line. Japanese International Cooperation Agency is also funding the metro line three.

First Published: 09 December, 2014 19:07 IST

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK