Pankaja Munde vs Dhananjay Munde in Parali again

Updated: Sep 19, 2019, 07:53 IST | Dharmendra Jore |

The NCP has announced Dhananjay Munde as its Parali candidate for the Assembly seat against his cousin and BJP minister Pankaja Munde

Woman and Child Welfare Minister Pankaja Munde
Woman and Child Welfare Minister Pankaja Munde

The estranged Munde cousins would be fighting it out again in Parli Assembly segment in Beed district of Marathwada. Sharad Pawar, chief of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), now on a state-wide campaign tour, has announced the leader of opposition in the upper house Dhananjay Munde as the official candidate from Parali where BJP's Pankaja Munde, rural development and woman & child welfare minister and daughter of late Gopinath Munde, is a sitting legislator. The two were locked in a battle in 2014 too when Dhananjay, Gopinath's nephew, had lost by 2.5 lakh votes.

Dhananjay had quit BJP in 2012 because he was upset over his uncle's promotion of the daughter. He joined the NCP and was made a member of the upper house. Pankaja's younger sister Dr Pritam Munder was elected as the Beed MP after her father's death in 2014. She retained her seat in 2019.

NCP's Dhananjay Munde
NCP's Dhananjay Munde

Tough fights in Beed

Pawar also announced NCP's other candidates from Beed district. Former NCP leader and now minister (from Shiv Sena) Jaidutta Kshirsagar would be pitted against his nephew Sandip Kshirsagar in an Assembly seat in Beed. Jaidutt switched over to Sena three months ago citing differences with senior NCP leaders.

NCP's first list includes Vijaysinh Pandit (Gevrai), former minister Prakash Solanke (Majalgaon) and Namita Mundada (Kej), daughter-in-law of former NCP minister late Vimal Mundada. Once a stronghold of NCP, the Beed district has now become a hotbed of politics after some NCP leaders jumped the ship.

2.5 lakh
No. of votes by which Pankaja Munde won against Dhananjay in 2014

Catch up on all the latest Crime, National, International and Hatke news here. Also download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get latest updates

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from


Maharashtra Assembly Elections: Dhananjay Munde, Smriti Irani and others cast their vote

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK