New Zealand struggle in first India Test

Aug 24, 2012, 17:18 IST | AFP

New Zealand seem to be struggling to reach India's total as they lose 5 wickets on the second day of the Test.

New Zealand struggled to reach 106-5 in their first innings at stumps in reply to India's 438 on the second day of the opening Test in Hyderabad on Friday.

Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin bagged three wickets and left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha two to put their team in a strong position.

R Ashwin
R Ashwin. Photo: AFP

Cheteshwar Pujara earlier scored an impressive 159 and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni hit 73 for India, while off-spinner Jeetan Patel bagged four wickets for New Zealand.

Scoreboard at stumps on the second day of the opening Test between India and New Zealand in Hyderabad on Friday:

India 1st innings (overnight 307-5):

G. Gambhir c van Wyk b Boult 22

V. Sehwag c Guptill b Bracewell 47

C. Pujara c Franklin b Patel 159

S. Tendulkar b Boult 19

V. Kohli c Guptill b Martin 58

S. Raina c van Wyk b Patel 3

MS Dhoni c Bracewell b Patel 73

R. Ashwin st van Wyk b Patel 37

Zaheer Khan c van Wyk b Boult 0

P. Ojha not out 4

U. Yadav run out 4

Extras (b6, lb4, w2) 12

Total (for all out; 134.3 overs) 438

Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Gambhir), 2-77 (Sehwag), 3-125 (Tendulkar), 4-250 (Kohli), 5-260 (Raina), 6-387 (Pujara), 7-411 (Dhoni), 8-414 (Zaheer), 9-430 (Ashwin), 10-438 (Yadav).

Bowling: Martin 27-4-76-1 (w1), Boult 27-4-93-3, Bracewell 19.1-1-88-1, Franklin 13.2-0-40-0 (w1), Patel 41-9-100-4, Williamson 7-0-31-0.

New Zealand 1st innings:

B. McCullum c Kohli b Ojha 22

M. Guptill c Kohli b Ashwin 2

K. Williamson c Sehwag b Ojha 32

R. Taylor c Kohli b Ashwin 2

D. Flynn lbw b Ashwin 16

J. Franklin not out 31

K. van Wyk not out 0

Extras (lb1) 1

Total (for five wickets; 42 overs) 106

Fall of wickets: 1-25 (McCullum), 2-29 (Guptill), 3-35 (Taylor), 4-55 (Flynn), 5-99 (Williamson).

Bowling: Zaheer 5-1-20-0, Yadav 3-0-4-0, Ojha 15-4-35-2, Ashwin 14-3-30-3, Sehwag 2-0-4-0, Raina 2-0-6-0, Tendulkar 1-0-6-0.

Toss: India

Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG) and Steve Davis (AUS)

TV umpire: Vineet Kulkarni (IND)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Go to top