Nitish, Lalu, Rabri, Paswan crackers missing this Diwali

Published: 14 November, 2012 10:47 IST | Agencies |

Bollywood stars have replaced Bihar's politicians in the firecracker market in the state this Diwali

Firecrackers named after Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, former chief ministers Lalu Prasad and Rabri Devi and former central minister Ram Vilas Paswan used to be hugely popular. They are now missing.

“This time firecrackers are named after Salman Khan, Shah Rukh Khan, Ajay Devgn, Kareena Kapoor, Katrina Kaif and Sonakshi Sinha. And they are selling like hot cakes,” said Tahir Ansari, a shopkeeper.

Shamim Khan, another shopkeeper, also said that firecrackers named after political leaders have given way to Bollywood figures.

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK