Observers to check Pune LS candidates' spending in June

May 28, 2014, 08:20 IST | A Correspondent

Notices to file the returns of expenditure have been issued to candidates of the four parliamentary constituencies in the district

The expenditure observers’ team is expected to come to Pune by June 16 to check the spending done by the candidates in Lok Sabha elections. 

Addressing reporters yesterday, District Collector Saurabh Rao said that notices to file the returns of expenditure have already been issued to candidates of the four parliamentary constituencies in Pune district.

“It is mandatory to finalise the account of the expenditure done by the candidates within one month from the date of counting. As the counting was held on May 16, the district administration has invited the election observers to Pune district on June 16,” said Rao.

The collector said that the nomination process for the graduate and teachers constituency elections will be on till June 3.

“The nomination process started on Tuesday. The scrutiny of candidates’ names will be done on June 4 and the polling will be held in seven divisions in Maharashtra, including Pune, on June 20,” he said.

New voters
The registration campaign for new voters will begin on May 29 and go on for three months, said Rao.

“For the first time, 15 and 6 zone offices in the Pune Municipal Corporation and PCMC limitations will serve as help centres for voters, he said, adding that the summary revision of the voters’ list will take place again in the state, under which booth-level officers will go from door to door to ensure that every voter’s name is included in the voters’ list.

MNS protest

The Pune wing of the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, under the leadership of city chief Bala Shedge, protested and shouted slogans outside the district election office yesterday. Shedge said party leaders had sought the list of votes received by all the candidates in Pune district, but the office’s staff made them run from pillar to post before refusing to hand it over. The list was given to the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena after the protest.

Go to top