On BJP website's MP list, there is no Narendra Modi

Jun 29, 2014, 08:30 IST | Agencies

PM Narendra Modi’s name is missing from the party’s official website’s parliamentary sections, while Sushma Swaraj is listed as leader of opposition

Lucknow: Social media and internet interface may be the buzz words for Prime Minister Narendra Modi but the BJP seems to be caught up in some embarrassing time warp. Its official website’s parliamentary sections have no mention of Modi being an MP.

In the list of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members, Modi is not even an MP while deceased leaders such as Gopinath Munde and Dilip Singh Judeo represent the party in the Lok Sabha.

Narenda Modi
According to his party’s website PM Narendra Modi never served as MP

A beaming picture of Vidisha MP and External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj greets you on the Lok Sabha page — www.bjpinloksabha.com/index.php — as the leader of opposition!

The situation is no better on the Rajya Sabha page (bjpinrajyasabha.org) where now Finance and Defence Minister Arun Jaitley is listed as a mere MP. Both sites are linked to the BJP’s official website.

In the Lok Sabha page, Lalji Tandon is described as the Lucknow MP although the Uttar Pradesh capital is now represented in the Lok Sabha by BJP president Rajnath Singh.

Dilip Singh Judeo, elected to the last Lok Sabha from Bilaspur in Madhya Pradesh and who died in August 2013, figures as a party MP. Modi’s cabinet colleague Gopinath Munde, who died in a car crash, still figures as the MP from Beed in Maharashtra.

Expelled party leader Jaswant Singh, who rebelled in the run up to the 16th Lok Sabha election, is listed as the MP from Barmer, a constituency in Rajasthan now represented by Sona Ram, who defected from the Congress. Murli Manohar Joshi is the MP from Varanasi, which elected Modi to the Lok Sabha.

Efforts to reach the webmasters failed. “Maybe this is an oversight or negligence. Now that you have alerted us about the issue, it will be corrected soon,” the leader said.

Go to top