Poll fever grips Mumbai! Possible candidates for the 2014 General Elections

Feb 23, 2014, 08:26 IST | Varun Singh

The 2014 General Elections are almost here and Mumbai’s six Lok Sabha seats are up for grabs. There are many stalwarts, including actors and activists vying for tickets. Some could pull off an upset while others will
probably play kingmaker

With the 2014 General Elections scheduled this year and model code of conduct a week or two away, election fever has gripped Mumbai. The city has six constituencies, all currently represented by the Congress-NCP combined. Five seats are with the Congress and one is held by the NCP.

However, any betting man would probably put his money on the equations and the balance of power changing this year, not just because the BJP-Shiv Sena combine have upped the ante, but also because of the spoiler’s role that both the MNS and the Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) candidates can play.

Sunday MiD DAY gives you a lowdown on candidates whose names are making the rounds for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Rahul ShewaleMumbai South Central
Covers: Dadar, Dharavi and many other pockets of Central Mumbai.
What’s cooking: Manohar Joshi, the senior Shiv Sena leader who had represented the constituency earlier was caught unaware, when BMC’s Standing Committee Chairman Rahul Shewale (in pic) started campaigning here.
Sitting MP: Eknath Gaikwad - INC. However, he may be replaced this year.

List of probable candidates
Congress: Eknath Gaikwad/ Balchandra Mungekar
Shiv Sena: Rahul Shewale
MNS: Aditya Shirodkar
Samajwadi Party: Niyaz Vanu

Sachin PilgaonkarMumbai North-West
Covers: Jogeshwari, Goregaon, Andheri, Juhu and other areas.
What’s cooking: Famous Marathi actor Sachin Pilgaonkar (in pic) may contest from here on an MNS ticket. Pilgaonkar was last spotted with MNS chief Raj Thackeray at Shanmukhananda Hall.
Sitting MP: Gurudas Kamat - INC

List of probable candidates
Congress: Gurudas Kamat
Shiv Sena: Gajanan Kirtikar
MNS: Sachin Pilgaonkar
AAP: Mayank Gandhi

Nana PatekarMumbai North-Central
Covers: Bandra, Santacruz, Kurla, Vile Parle, and many other nearby areas.
What’s cooking: Just as Amethi is considered a bastion of the Gandhi family, this constituency is considered a bastion of the Dutt family. This year, actor Nana Patekar (in pic) is apparently interested in contesting from this constituency on a BJP ticket and might even speak to Narendra Modi for the same. Ashish Shelar, BJP’s Mumbai chief may suggest Mohit Khamboj’s name.
Sitting MP: Priya Dutt - INC

List of probable candidates
Congress: Priya Dutt
BJP: Nana Patekar /Mohit Khamboj
Samajwadi Party: Abu Azmi

Gopal ShettyMumbai North
Covers: Kandivli, Borivli, Dahisar, Malad, Charkop and other areas.
What’s cooking: BJP’s MLA from Borivli Gopal Shetty (in pic) will contest from here this year. The new entrant for this seat is Shalini Thackeray of the MNS who fought the last elections from the adjacent North West constituency and managed to get over 1.24 lakh votes.
Sitting MP: Sanjay Nirupam - INC

List of probable candidates
Congress: Sanjay Nirupam
BJP: Gopal Shetty
MNS: Shalini Thackeray

Mumbai South
Covers: Colaba, Cuffe Parade, Malabar Hill, Worli, Altamount Road, Napean Sea Road, Pedder Road, Parel, Sewree, Mohammed Ali Road, Bhendi Bazaar.
Sitting MP: Milind Deora - INC

List of probable candidates
Congress: Milind Deora
Shiv Sena-BJP: Arvind Sawant/Abhinandan Lodha
MNS: Bala Nandgaonkar
AAP: Meera Sanyal

Medha PatkarMumbai North-East
Covers: Bhandup, Vikhroli, Mulund, Ghatkopar and other areas.
What’s cooking: Last time BJP’s Kirit Somaiya lost to NCP’s Sanjay Patil by a mere 2,000 votes. This time the new entrant who may act kingmaker is AAP’s Medha Patkar, who has a strong presence in the slums of Mandala.
Late BJP leader Pramod Mahajan’s daughter Poonam Mahajan too is eyeing the seat and has the support of a few sitting BJP MLAs from the area.
Sitting MP: Sanjay Patil, NCP

List of probable candidates
NCP: Sanjay Patil
BJP: Kirit Somaiya/Poonam Mahajan
MNS: Shivajirao Nalwade
AAP: Medha Patkar (in pic)

Go to top