President gives away Padma awards; Sridevi, Rahul Dravid among those honoured

Apr 05, 2013, 17:56 IST | Agencies

Cricketer Rahul Dravid and Bollywood actors Sridevi and Sharmila Tagore were among those who received the Padma awards today.

President Pranab Mukherjee today presented Padma awards, the country's highest civilian awards, to 54 personalities, including actors Sharmila Tagore and Sridevi.

In pictures: Padma award winners

Sridevi receiving the Padma Shree from Pranab Mukherjee
Sridevi receiving the Padma Shree from Pranab Mukherjee (Pic - AFP)

Noted physicist Yash Pal and renowned sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra were presented the second highest civilian honour Padma Vibhushan, while batting great Rahul Dravid and actor Sharmila Tagore were among those were conferred with the Padma Bhushan. Actor Sridevi received the Padma Shri.

Nobody was named for the Bharat Ratna this year too. The last awardee was late Bhimsen Joshi in 2008.

The civil investiture ceremony was held at the Durbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Among the dignitaries present on the occasion were Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde, Finance Minister P Chidambaram and Science and Technology Minister Jaipal Reddy.

Go to top