Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his band of 45 ministers sworn in

May 26, 2014, 19:56 IST | Agencies

45 ministers, including ministers of state, were also sworn in as Modi’s council of ministers

New Delhi: Thirty-six of the 45 members in Narendra Modi's council of ministers Monday took oath in Hindi. Prime Minister Modi was the first to be sworn in and he took his oath of office in Hindi.

President Pranab Mukherjee, Vice-President Hamid Ansari, PM Narendra Modi and his Council of Ministers after the swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhawan yesterday. PicS/Pti
President Pranab Mukherjee, Vice-President Hamid Ansari, PM Narendra Modi and his Council of Ministers after the swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhawan yesterday. PicS/Pti

The other 10 ministers took their oaths in English, but nobody took oath of office and secrecy in their mother tongue. Maneka Gandhi, Nirmala Sitharaman and Najma Heptulla took oath in English.

Anupam Kher, Shatrughan Sinha and Hema Malini
Anupam Kher, Shatrughan Sinha and Hema Malini

Among others who took their oath in English were Venkaiah Naidu, Telugu Desam Party’s Pusapati Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Shiromani Akali Dal’s Harsimrat Kaur Badal.

Salman Khan
Salman Khan

Wearing a pastel-coloured Nehru jacket over a full-sleeved off-white Kurta and sporting a tri-coloured badge, Modi took oath in Hindi in the name of God. He was lustily cheered. The next to take oath was Rajnath Singh, the leader seen most with the new Prime Minister during the election campaign.

Kirron Kher
Kirron Kher

He was followed by another party veteran Sushma Swaraj and then Arun Jaitley. Modi became the third Prime Minister since Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Chandra Shekhar to assume the top office in the sprawling red-sand forecourt.

Who’s who on guest list
The glamour quotient in the ceremony came from cinestars Salman Khan and Vivek Oberoi, actor-turned-politicians Hema Malini and Shatrughan Sinha, who have been elected in the recent elections, and her husband Dharmendra, who were all seen enjoying the moment.

The presence of large number religious gurus, many of whom added saffron tint to the ceremony, including Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, Morari Bapu, Jagadguru Rambhadracharya, Sadhvi Rithambara was prominent in the front row of guests.

While Mukesh Ambani was accompanied by his wife Nita and two sons, his brother Anil brought his mother Kokilaben. Gautam Adani also came with his family. SP President Mulayam Singh Yadav, Uttar Pradesh CM Akhilesh Yadav, Jammu and Kashmir CM Omar Abdullah were also present in the ceremony but Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalitha, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee and Odisha Chief Minister Navin Patnaik gave it a miss.

7 women in Modi Cabinet
Seven women took oath as ministers in the Narendra Modi government, and one of them is set to be a member of the all-powerful Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) made up of home, finance, foreign and defence ministires. Sushma Swaraj, tipped to be the external affairs minister, would be a CCS member.

Najma Heptulla (74), a Rajya Sabha member since 1980, is the eldest woman minister while actress-turned-politician Smriti Irani (38) is the youngest. Uma Bharti, Maneka Gandhi and Shiromani Akali Dal's Harsimrat Kaur Badal are the other women cabinet ministers. BJP’s Nirmala Sitharaman took oath as MoS with independent charge.

The 45-member Modi cabinet: Ready reckoner

1. Rajnath Singh 
2. Sushma Swaraj 
3. Arun Jaitley 
4. M Venkaiah Naidu 
5. Nitin Gadkari 
6. D V Sadananda Gowda 
7. Uma Bharti 
8. Najma A Heptulla 
9. Gopinathrao Munde 
10. Ramvilas Paswan 
11. Kalraj Mishra 
12. Maneka Gandhi 
13. Ananthkumar 
14. Ravi Shankar Prasad 
15. Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati 
16. Anant Geete 
17. Harsimrat Kaur Badal 
18. Narendra Singh Tomar 
19. Jual Oram 
20. Radha Mohan Singh 
21. Thaawar Chand Gehlot 
22. Smriti Zubin Irani 
23. Harsh Vardhan

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)
1. General (retd) V K Singh 
2. Inderjit Singh Rao 
3. Santosh Kumar Gangwar 
4. Shripad Yesso Naik 
5. Dharmendra Pradhan 
6. Sarbananda Sonowal 
7. Prakash Javadekar 
8. Piyush Goyal 
9. Jitendra Singh 
10. Nirmala Sitharaman

Ministers of State
1. G M Siddeshwara 
2. Manoj Sinha 3. Nihalchand 
4. Upendra Kushwaha 
5. Radhakrishnan P 
6. Kiren Rijiju 
7. Krishan Pal 
8. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan 
9. Mansukhbhai Vasava 
10. Raosaheb Dadarao Danve 11. Vishnu Deo Sai 
12. Sudarshan Bhagat

Go to top