Pune defeat Mumbai to clinch Schools Hockey League

May 10, 2012, 09:29 IST | Sundari Iyer

Pune Lions' forward-turned-goalkeeper, Vrushabh Avhad came up with a brilliant performance to help his team beat Mumbai Tigers 4-1 via tie-breaker in the final of the inaugural Mumbai Schools Sports Association (MSSA) Schools Hockey league title at the St Stanislaus Ground, Bandra yesterday.

The Pune forward, who donned the ’keeper’s pads in the shoot-out, saved two penalty strokes after both teams were tied-1-1 at the end of regulation time. Mumbai’s Sameer Dihora scored the opener in the 11th minute only to see Pune’s Bhaskar Tripathi equalise in the 39th minute. 

Pune Lions’ Aniket Andhare (yellow) takes on Mumbai Lions defenders during yesterday’s MSSA Schools Hockey League match at St Stanislaus Ground in Bandra. Pune won 4-1 via tie-breaker. Pic/Sunil Tiwari 

In the tie-breaker Mumbai’s Hemant Fadikar and Pierre Noronha failed to beat Avhad. Mumbai also changed their goalkeeper for the tie-breaker, sending in Ryan Varela instead of regular custodian Ethan D’Cruz, but the move didn’t work in their favour. 


Sarfraz Shaikh, Tejas Rathod, Maozam Shaikh and Anand Pawar were on target for Pune, while Milan Waghela scored for Mumbai. The winners took home a cash award of R10,000 while runners-up were richer by Rs 5000.
Results: (Final) Pune Lions 5 (Bhaskar Tripathi, Sarfraz Shaikh, Tejas Rathod, Maozam Shaikh, Anand Pawar) beat Mumbai Tigers 2 (Sameer Dihora, Milan Waghela) via tie-breaker; Third Place: Mumbai Zions 2 (Keanu D'Souza, Aziz Shaikh) beat Thane Strikers 1 (Deepesh Patil) 

Go to top