REALITY CHECK! Dutch shot out for record lowest T20I total; Sri Lanka stroll to a win

Mar 24, 2014, 20:59 IST | Agencies

Having bowled out the Netherlands for the lowest-ever T20 international total of 39, the Sri Lankans then recorded the fastest-ever victory in a T20I as they won by 9-wickets at Chittagong on Monday

Chittagong (Bangladesh): Sri Lanka recorded the fastest ever victory in a Twenty20 International as they thrashed a hapless Netherlands by nine wickets in just five overs in a Group 1 Super 10 match of the ICC World T20 on Monday.

Put into bat, minnows Netherlands could survive just 10.3 overs as they were shot out for a miniscule 39, the lowest ever completed innings total in a T20 International history and the Lankans took just 30 deliveries to chase down the target.

Tillakaratne Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene remained unbeaten on 12 and 11 respectively after opener Kusal Perera was out for 14 in one of the most lopsided matches in cricket history at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.

Sri Lanka's win today was the largest margin of victory in terms of balls remaining as they overhauled the target -- by reaching 40 for one -- with 15 overs to spare.

The previous largest margin of victory in terms of balls remaining in a Twenty20 International was Ireland's 10-wicket victory over Kenya at Dubai International Cricket Stadium in March 2012, which was achieved with 76 ball (12.4 overs) to spare.

In that match, Kenya were shot out for 71 in 19 overs and Ireland chased down the target in 7.2 overs. 

Earlier, man-of-the-match Angelo Mathews and Ajantha Mendis wrecked havoc on the Dutch with three-wicket burst each.

Sri Lankan cricketers celebrate the wicket of Netherlands captain Peter Borren with bowler Angelo Mathews (L) and teammates during the ICC World Twenty20 tournament at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Monday. Pic/AFP

Mathews took 3-16, Mendis finished with 3-12 and Lasith Malinga grabbed 2-5, as the Netherlands suffered ignominy in their opening Group One Super-10 match at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury stadium.

Put into bat, the Netherlands could survive for just 10.3 overs as their batsmen were simply run over by the Lankan bowlers.

Amidst the shambles, Tom Copper was the only batsman who reached double figures with 16.

This was the lowest ever T20 International innings total, the earlier lowest being the 56 scored by Kenya while chasing a target of 163 against Afghanistan at Sharjah Cricket Stadium in September in 2013.

Five batsmen failed to score as the Netherlands, who qualified after beating Ireland in a high-scoring run-chase in the first round, were left embarrassed in their first big test.

Paceman Nuwan Kulasekara struck with the third ball of the match when he dismissed Stephan Myburgh, Netherlands' hero in the match against Ireland with 63, to give a fright to the Netherlands.

Mathews then claimed the wickets of opener Michael Swart (0) and wicketkeeper Wesley Barresi (1) off consecutive balls in the second over but could not come up with a hat-trick.

But, he came back to dismiss captain Peter Borren for nought in his next over to rock the Netherlands innings.

The Dutch, who qualified in the Super 10 after defeating Ireland, were 9/4 then and after a brief resistance, they suffered a dramatic batting collapse with Mendis taking two wickets in quick succession.

Netherlands lost three wickets in the same score of 39 with Mendis dismissing Pieter Seelaar (0) and M Jamil (0) in the space of three balls.

The Netherlands lost the their last six wickets for just 14 runs.

Netherlands's previous lowest Twenty20 total was 86 they mad against Ireland at Dublin in 2010.

With today's win, their second on the trot, Sri Lanka are on top of Group 1 with four points from two matches. They had beaten South Africa by five runs on Saturday. 


The Netherlands

S. Myburgh c Malinga b Kulasekara 0

M. Swart c Sangakkara b Mathews 0

W. Barresi c Chandimal b Mathews 1

T. Cooper lbw b Mendis 16

P. Borren lbw b Mathews 0

B. Cooper run out 8

Mudassar Bukhari b Malinga 4

L. van Beek b Malinga 1

P. Seelaar c Mathews b Mendis 3

T. Gugten not out 0

Ahsan Jamil lbw b Mendis 0

Extras: (lb6) 6

Total: (all out; 10.3 overs) 39

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Myburgh), 2-1 (Swart), 3-1 (Baresi), 4-9 (Borren), 5-25 (B. Cooper), 6-33 (T. Cooper), 7-36 (van Beek), 8-39 (Bukhari), 9-39 (Seelaar)

Bowling: Kulasekara 2-2-0-1, Mathews 4-0-16-3, Malinga 2-0-5-2, Mendis 2.3-0-12-3

Sri Lanka

K. Perera c Swart b Jamil 14

T. Dilshan not out 12

M. Jayawardene not out 11

Extras: (nb1, w2) 3

Total: (for one wkt; 5 overs) 40

Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Perera)

Did not bat: K. Sangakkara, D. Chandimal, A. Mathews, T. Perera, N. Kulasekara, S. Senanayake, B. Mendis, L. Malinga

Bowling: Van der Gugten 3-0-22-0 (1nb, 1w), Jamil 2-0-18-1 (1w)

Result: Sri Lanka won by nine wickets

Toss: Sri Lanka

Umpires: Paul Reiffel (AUS) and Rod Tucker (AUS)

Tv umpire: Sundaram Ravi (IND)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Go to top