Records created in IPL 6

May 27, 2013, 11:00 IST | Shawn D'souza

There is a saying, records are meant to be broken. Well, as the Indian Premier League sixth edition comes to a close, there are quite a few benchmarks recreated again. With some of the most awe-inspiring performances and excellent gameplay, some players and teams have managed to carve their names in the history books of IPL. We revisit the season to take a look at new set of records made or broken this season.

Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings) became the bowler to take the most number of wickets in a single IPL season with 32 wickets. Previous record holder - Lasith Malinga (28).

Dwayne Bravo
Dwayne Bravo

Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings) equaled the record of Chris Gayle as the batsman with most runs in a single IPL season with 733 runs.

Michael Hussey.

Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore) became the batsman to score the highest individual score in any T20 format when he scored an unbeaten 175 off just 66 balls against Pune Warriors. Previous record holder - Brendon McCullum (158).

Chris Gyle
Chris Gayle. Pic/ Atul Kamble

Chris Gayle also hit the fastest century in IPL in just 30 balls. Previous record holder – Yusuf Pathan (37 balls). David Miller (Kings XI Punjab) hit the third fastest century in IPL (38 balls)

Royal Challengers Bangalore also scored 263/5, the highest total in all of IPL against Pune Warriors in the same game. Previous record – 246/5 (CSK)

Royal Challengers Bangalore. File Pic

Chennai Super Kings posted 79 runs, the fourth lowest total in an IPL game against Mumbai Indians

Michael Hussey
Michael Hussey in clean bowled during the match.

Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Pune Warriors India by 130 runs, the second largest victory in IPL history.

Chris Gayle smashed 17 sixes, the highest in an innings of 175 runs in the game against Pune Warriors. Previous record – 13 (Brendon McCullum)

Chris Gayle also hit a record 154 runs from boundaries and sixes vs Pune. Previous record: 118 (Brendon McCullum)

AB deVilliers (Royal Challengers Bangalore) strike rate of 387.50 vs Pune Warriors is the second highest in an innings.

AB deVilliers.

Chris Gayle and Tillakaratne Dilshan hold the record for the highest first wicket partnership (167 runs).

Gayle, Dilshan
Dilshan and Gayle during their innings.

Amit Mishra (Sunrisers Hyderabad) became the only bowler to take three hat-tricks in IPL history.

Amit Mishra
Amit Mishra. 

Ishant Sharma (Sunrisers Hyderabad) became the bowler to concede most number of runs in an innings giving 66 runs against CSK. Umesh Yadav (Delhi Daredevils) stands second with 65 runs and Ashok Dinda (Pune Warriors) stands third with 63 runs.

Go to top