RWITC Elections: Ruia continues successful run

Sep 07, 2018, 15:19 IST | Prakash Gosavi

The total number of votes polled were 1377

RWITC Elections: Ruia continues successful run
Shyam Ruia. Pic/Bipin Kokate

Shyam Ruia continued his successful run on the Royal Western India Turf Club (RWITC) managing committee by polling the highest number of votes yesterday evening. Ruia got 747 votes. The total number of votes polled were 1377.

Six of the seven sitting members — including chairman KN Dhunjibhoy, chairman of the stewards Geoffrey Nagpal, and marketing chief Ram Shroff— got re-elected; Jaydev Mody being the only one who was voted out. It may be noted that Mody had picked up cudgels on behalf of his jockey PS Chouhan who was adjudged guilty in the now infamous Lord Commander case, and the matter is sub-judice as of now.

Gautam Lala and Sunil Jhangiani, who contested after a gap of several years, will be two of the three fresh faces on the new committee, the third being Pune-based Surendra Sanas, who got elected in what was his first attempt.

In a meeting held immediately after the results were announced, Khushroo N Dhunjibhoy was re-elected as chairman and Geoffrey Nagpal was re-elected as chairman of the stewards. In the elections held for two seats on the Board of Appeal of RWITC, G Vahanvati (791) and Asif Lampwalla (673) got elected, defeating Byram Jeejeebhoy (605).

Catch up on all the latest sports news and updates here. Also download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get latest updates

DISCLAIMER: mid-day and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

Here's Why Rahul Dravid is a Living Legend!

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK