Sachin Tendulkar receives award for fastest ton in 2012-13 Ranji season

May 29, 2013, 22:09 IST | PTI

Tendulkar, who slammed the century against Railways at the Wankhede Stadium in the 2012-13 Ranji season, was presented the award by cricket legend Dilip Vengsarkar.

Senior cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, who played a crucial role in Mumbai's conquest of their 40th Ranji Trophy title this season, on Wedensday received award for striking the fastest century in the national championship at the annual awards function of Mumbai Cricket Association here.

Tendulkar, who slammed the century against Railways at the Wankhede Stadium, received the award at the hands of fellow Mumbai stalwart and former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar, with several former Test and first-class cricketers present.

Sachin Tendulkar, Ajit Agarkar
Champs: Mumbai’s batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar and skipper Ajit Agarkar with the Ranji Trophy at the Wankhede Stadium in January. Pic/Atul Kamble

The Mumbai Ranji Trophy team was also felicitated for achieving their stupendous feat. They beat Saurashtra by an innings.

Interestingly, along with other members of the team, the name of Ankeet Chavan, arrested by Delhi police in spot-fixing scandal this month, too was called out. Nobody came forward to receive the award on his behalf.

Also getting the award for scoring the fastest hundreds in Ranji were Ajinkya Rahane (2010-11) and Rohit Sharma, in absentia, for 2011-12.

Five former cricketers - Vengsarkar, Chandu Pandit, Sandeep Patil, Abey Kuruvilla and woman cricketer Vrindha Bhagat - got special awards. Former MCA president and Union Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar was the chief guest.

Go to top